Library: History Resources: Papers, Letters and Diaries

Ask a Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

260-481-6515

Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminal Justice, English & Linguistics, Government Information, History, International Language & Culture Studies, Literature, Philosophy & Religion, Political Science, Public Administration, Sociology, Women & Gender Studies

Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress
From the Library of Congress American Memory collections.
Adams Family Papers
Letters, papers, and correspondence from the family of President John Adams.
Alexander Graham Bell Family Papers
From the Library of Congress and includes correspondence, scientific notebooks, journals, blueprints, articles, and photographs.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 100,000 pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs including 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials from more than 2,000 authors. The writings are from politicians, generals, slaves, farmers, seamen, wives, and spies and give views on every aspect of the war.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
A collection of the diaries and correspondence of approximately 500 British and Irish women. Includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years, as well as biographies and an annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Canadian Letters and Images Project
Department of History at Vancouver Island University.
Darwin Correspondence Project
Includes more than 7,500 of Charles Darwin’s letters.
Frederick Douglass Papers
From the Library of Congress.
George Washington Papers
An extensive collection of George Washington's correspondence, including materials on his use of spies. From the Library of Congress' American Memory Collection.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
Provides a personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada based upon personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Includes several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable for the first time.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 150,000 pages of diaries and letters detailing experiences of more than 1,300 women, dating from Colonial times to 1950. Includes many biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography.

Spy Letters of the American Revolution
From the collections of the Clements Library.
Thomas Jefferson Papers, 1606-1827
From the Library of Congres