History Resources: Primary Source Databases

Gale Primary Sources combines Gale's digital archives in a single cross-search interface that provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.

The archive includes monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections on Native Americans in the United States and Canada.

This resource contains the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), the independent international affairs policy institute founded in 1920 following the Paris Peace Conference.

British Foreign Office information files gathered from across German-occupied territories and neutral states, including first-hand reports (letters from diplomats, telegrams, news clippings and more) and the official discussions surrounding them.

Provides full-text searching of electronic facsimiles of over 180,000 titles published in Great Britain and North America in the eighteenth century.

This pamphlet collections relates specifically to Brazil concerning history, politics and literature from 1801 to 1983.

Contains primary documents relating to the Americas dating from 1500 to 1926.

A full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.

Includes two collections: 1) 1450-1850, the Goldsmiths’-Kress Collection, with digitized materials from the University of London and Harvard University, and 2) 1851-1940, from University of London; Columbia University, Hiroshima University of Economics, and University of Kansas. Both collections include materials focused on the history of economics, industrialization, labor, trade, and colonization.

This collection is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century.

Primary sources related to aftermath of World War II in Europe. It covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after the war as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves.

A collection of primary source material that documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States, and the evolution and impact of public health legislation, policies, and campaigns at the local, national, and federal levels.

Provides full-text access to more than 36,000 primary documents relating to the historical events and social movements of the 1960s.

An historical archive that embraces the scholarly study of slavery in a comprehensive, conceptual, and global way.

Includes the World's Fairs and Expositions collection, with materials published from 1834 to 1940, and the Trade Literature and the Merchandising of Industry, with materials from 1820 through 1926.

This database includes primary and secondary source material on the history of women and social movements in the U.S. from 1600 through 2000.

This collection of primary materials includes the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made.

Primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. Includes sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.

A collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more.