Library: History Resources: Official Documents

Ask a Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

260-481-6515

Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminal Justice, English & Linguistics, Government Information, History, International Language & Culture Studies, Literature, Philosophy & Religion, Political Science, Public Administration, Sociology, Women & Gender Studies

Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files This link opens in a new window
One of Gale's Archives Unbound collections, this collection contains more than 9,000 documents relating to diplomatic relations between the United States and Afghanistan from 1945-1963.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covers major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes over 36 collections with, with over 80,000 indexed documents. See Collections Guide within DNSA for more info. From ProQuest.

Federal Bureau of Investigation Electronic Reading Room - The Vault
FBI files contain documents on espionage, famous persons, gangsters, unusual phenomena, violent crime and historical interest. The quality of these copies is often poor, because the original files are in fragile condition. These are the best reproductions available. Portions of the documents have been marked out. The deletions are made, in general terms, to protect national security, personal privacy interests, the identity of confidential sources, and law enforcement techniques.

Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 This link opens in a new window
This collection from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) library contains more than 88,000 documents pertaining to the federal surveillance of African Americans from 1920-1984.

Guide to Government Information
The Helmke Library guide to federal, state, local and international government information.

Historic Documents This link opens in a new window
1975 to current. An annual publication that includes significant documents from each month of the year.

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
Includes archival material from the U.S. government, with options to do research by topic, search the catalog, and browse online exhibits. See also Access to Archival Databases (AAD).
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.

State Papers Online This link opens in a new window
This resource provides a manuscript archive of original materials from 1509 to 1782 covering British and European history.

UN Member States on the Record
Browse by country to find official UN documents from the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and Human Rights Council.
United Nations Official Documents System
Search various UN documents. Click here for more information on the scope of what is available through the ODS.
International Government Resources
A guide from Helmke Library.
EuroDocs
A guide to official documents, organized by country. Includes transcriptions, facsimiles and translations related to European history. For print versions, try looking for the item in the catalog or WorldCat.