Literature Resources: Websites

Links biographical sketches of Hoosier authors to full-text books. Currently covers 1816 through 1980. Produced by the Indiana University Digital Library Program.

Purdue University Fort Wayne professor Dr. Troy Bassett's biographical and bibliography database of nineteenth-century British fiction.

Initiated in 2006, DJO successfully created, by the time of the Charles Dickens bicentenary in February 2012, a complete online edition of Dickens’s weekly magazines, Household Words and All the Year Round. In their day, these were phenomenally popular journals, which not only carried installments of such well known novels as Great Expectations, Hard Times, North and South, and The Woman in White, but also poetry, investigative journalism, travel writing, popular science, history, and political comment. Hosted by the University of Buckingham.

Housed at the Bancroft Library at University of California Berkely, this archive is an ongoing project to provide access to primary sources related to Twain.

"Founded in 1883, the Modern Language Association of America provides opportunities for its members to share their scholarly findings and teaching experiences with colleagues and to discuss trends in the academy. MLA members host an annual convention and other meetings, work with related organizations, and sustain one of the finest publishing programs in the humanities. For over a hundred years, members have worked to strengthen the study and teaching of language and literature. " From the website.

The Linguistic Society of America is a learned society for the field of linguistics. Founded at the end of 1924 in New York City, the LSA works to promote the scientific study of language.

"Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early women’s writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible."

A large-scale online archive with digitized books, journals, documents and more. Especially useful for finding materials in the public domain.

"Our eBooks may be freely used in the United States because most are not protected by U.S. copyright law, usually because their copyrights have expired."