Library: Chemistry Resources: Physical Data Collections

Contact Your Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Librarian

(260) 481-6502

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Education, Geosciences, Health & Medicine, Mathematical Sciences, Psychology, Writing for Publication

Physical Data

ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources. There is an iPhone app also available at http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/chemspider/id458878661?mt=8

Merck index
Call Number: Latest edition at SERVICE DESK RS51 .M4
ISBN: 00766518
Publication Date: 2006
Published by Merck Pharmaceuticals, with data primarily on organics, strongest on drugs (surprise!). Includes physical data, preparation references., toxicity and uses. Arranged alphabetically by chemical name; well-indexed; updated irregularly.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry by James Speight
Call Number: QD65 .L36
ISBN: 125958609X
Publication Date: 2016
Written to provide a reliable one-stop source of factual information for today's working chemist. Within its pages, you will find an unmatched compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings that span every area of chemistry.
Organic Solvents: Physical Properties and Methods of Purification by Theodore K. Sakano; William B. Bunger; John A. Riddick; Weissberger
Call Number: REFERENCE QD61 .T4 v.2 1986
ISBN: 0471084670
Publication Date: 1986-10-13
This is a great place to find data/methods on non-aqueous solvents.
CRC Handbook Series in Organic Electrochemistry by Louis Meites
Call Number: QD272.E4 C17
Publication Date: 1976-
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by William M. Haynes (Editor)
Call Number: QD65 .H3
ISBN: 9781466571143
Publication Date: 2013-06-17
Tables are grouped in broad subject sections. Most frequently used for tables of organic compounds and inorganic compounds, which contain data on melting points, boiling points, density and solubility among others.
Familiar source; published annually but usually changes little from one year to the next. Note that both tables have synonym indexes following the table.Not very systematic in choice of data, and indexing can be inconsistent.

Kaye and Laby's Table of Physical and Chemical Constants
This online version includes the entire, unedited contents of the 16th edition (published 1995) and is crammed full of tables of data, formulae, graphs and charts. This information span topics from fundamental constants to fibre optics, superconductivity to Raman spectroscopy and many others. The contents will be regularly reviewed and updated to reflect advances and developments in the fields of physics and chemistry.
Knovel Critical Tables
This new 2nd Edition has been updated with over 40 new interactive tables which include new tables covering 503 Heat Capacity and Thermal Conductivity, 3,133 Reaction Thermodynamics and Equilibrium Constants, 854 Density and Compressibility, 13,332 Vaporization and Vapor Pressure, 185 Thermal Expansion, 377 Transport and Flow, and 1902 Electrical Properties data.
NIST Chemistry Webbook
Among other data, NIST Chemistry Webbook has IR spectra for over 16,000 compounds, mass spectra for over 15,000 compounds, UV/visible spectra for over 400 compounds and electronic and vibrational spectra for over 4000 compounds which may be searched in a variety of ways, displayed and printed. Note that the variety of data available here is growing; well-worth checking for a wide variety of data.
more...less...
The Webbook may also be searched by keyword, property or
chemical name along with a large number of NIST databases at the
NIST Data Gateway. http://srdata.nist.gov/gateway/.
NIST Physical Reference Data
Reaxys
Provides access to the Beilstein and Gmelin Databases, highly respected core collections of structures, properties, and references to the literature in organic, organometallic and inorganic chemistry. It is designed to find chemical structures, chemical reactions, and property information, as well as spectroscopic data.

SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Chemical Society (ACS), SciFinder Scholar is a research tool to locate and process information on a wide range of chemical and chemistry-related topics. Contains Chemical Abstracts. New users must first create an account.

NCBI Chemcial and Molecular Databases
Contains several databases.
The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

NMR

Spectroscopy for the Biological Sciences by Gordon G. Hammes An introduction to the physical principles of spectroscopy and their applications to the biological sciences Advances in such fields as proteomics and genomics place new demands on students and professionals to be able to apply quantitative concepts to the biological phenomena that they are studying. Spectroscopy for the Biological Sciences provides students and professionals with a working knowledge of the physical chemical aspects of spectroscopy, along with their applications to important biological problems. Designed as a companion to Professor Hammes's Thermodynamics and Kinetics for the Biological Sciences, this approachable yet thorough text covers the basic principles of spectroscopy, including: * Fundamentals of spectroscopy * Electronic spectra * Circular dichroism and optical rotary dispersion * Vibration in macromolecules (IR, Raman, etc.) * Magnetic resonance * X-ray crystallography * Mass spectrometry With a minimum of mathematics and a strong focus on applications to biology, this book will prepare current and future professionals to better understand the quantitative interpretation of biological phenomena and to utilize these tools in their work.
ISBN: 1280277386
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectra by Sadtler Research Laboratories
Call Number: Reference -- QD117.S6 S12
Publication Date: 1967-1980
Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT-NMR Spectra by Charles Pouchert This three volume set of 12,000 high-resolution 75MHz 13C and 300MHz 1H FT-NMR spectra is arranged according to functionality. The Library contains CNMR and HNMR spectra of 11,828 organic compounds as well as information about their physico-chemical properties.
Call Number: QD96.F68 P67 1993
ISBN: 0941633349
Publication Date: 1993

Crystallographic Data

CSD Teaching Database
A free 500-structure subset of the Cambridge Structural Database (CSD). Crystal structure analyses are remarkable for the richness of structural information they provide. Both the 3D geometric structures of molecules and also the nature and geometry of their interactions with other molecules and ions are characterised.