Chemistry Resources: Chemical Patents

An overview from the American Chemical Society about patent information related to chemistry.

Lens serves nearly all of the patent documents in the world as open, annotatable digital public goods that are integrated with scholarly and technical literature along with regulatory and business data.

Search the full text of US Patents

Access to Patents, Trademarks, and Intellectual Property (IP) Law Policy information.

Freely accessible government database consisting of the full text of U.S. patents.

Freely accessible government database consisting of the full text of U.S. patents from 1976.

Contains all recorded Patent Assignment information from August 1980.

The database contains all recorded Trademark Assignment information from 1955 to March 2, 2015 .
Trademark Assignments recorded prior to 1955 are maintained at the National Archives and Records Administration.

Provides access to templates describing search resources for the classified areas of science and technology found in the USPTO Manual of Classification.

What is a Patent? Trademark or Servicemark? Copyright? Patent laws, What can be patented etc.

Espacenet offers free access to millions of patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today.

The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication. The information may be searched by entering keywords, names of applicants, international patent classification and many other search criteria in multiple languages.

PCT assists applicants in seeking patent protection internationally for their inventions, helps patent Offices with their patent granting decisions, and facilitates public access to a wealth of technical information relating to those inventions.

The WIPO Handbook is the authoritative source of the WIPO Standards, Recommendations and Guidelines in the field of industrial property information and documentation. It also provides other information related to patents, trademarks and industrial designs such as practices by industrial property offices and examples of documents.

The database contains information regarding all international marks recorded under the Madrid system, that are currently in force in the International Register or have expired within the past six months.

A one stop solution for registering and managing marks worldwide. The system is administered by the International Bureau of WIPO, which maintains the International Register and publishes the WIPO Gazette of International Marks.

IPC, established by the Strasbourg Agreement 1971, provides for a hierarchical system of language independent symbols for the classification of patents and utility models according to the different areas of technology to which they pertain.

NCL, established by the Nice Agreement (1957), is an international classification of goods and services applied for the registration of marks. The countries party to the Nice Agreement constitute a Special Union within the framework of the Paris Union for the Protection of Industrial Property. They have adopted and apply the Nice Classification for the purposes of the registration of marks.

VCL, established by the Vienna Agreement (1973), is an international classification of the figurative elements of marks.

The Locarno Classification (LOC), established by the Locarno Agreement (1968), is an international classification used for the purposes of the registration of industrial designs.

The Hague System for the International Registration of Industrial Designs provides a practical business solution for registering up to 100 designs in over 62 territories through filing one single international application.

It offers a means of obtaining protection for an appellation of origin (AO) in the contracting parties to the Lisbon Agreement through a single registration. Registrations are published in the official Bulletin and can be searched through the Lisbon Express database.