Public companies use their websites as a platform for persuasion. Consider what you learn about the company from the website itself. What products and priorities are highlighted in images and site organization? What messages are they trying to convey?
Look for an "About Us" or "History" page. These pages contain useful historical context for an organization as well as the company's perceived strengths. They may also communicate information about the organization's investors and partners.
Search the company's name in the database search bar and select your company from the search results.
History: Navigate to the "Profile" tab in the purple navigation bar. Select the "History" section from this tab.
Financials: Navigate to the "Financials" tab in the purple navigation bar.
News: Navigate to the "News" tab in the purple navigation bar.
Search the company's name in the database search bar and select your company from the search results.
History: Navigate to the "Company Details" tab in the top teal navigation bar. Select the "History" section from this tab.
Financials: Navigate to the "Company Financials" tab in the top teal navigation bar.
News: Navigate to the "News" tab in the top teal navigation bar.
Industry Information: Locate the company's NAICS and SIC codes in the light teal bar with other company information.
Locate the "Business" box under "Discover Topics" on Nexis Uni's homepage. Select "Find a Company" under the "Company Dossier" box. Enter your company's name and select it from the search results.
History: Navigate to "Company Information" then "Company History" from the left navigation bar.
Financials: Navigate to "Financial Overview" from the left navigation bar.
News: Navigate to "News" from the left navigation bar.
Industry Information: Navigate to "Industry Knowledge" then "Industry Overview" from the left navigation bar.
SEC filings, including 10K and 10Q reports, can be searched through EDGAR. It's easiest to search by company, but you can explore other search options as well. You can also locate these reports in the following databases:
To locate a company's annual reports and 10K filings, search the company's name in the database search bar. After selecting your company from the search results, navigate to the "Annual Reports" tab in the top teal navigation bar. This tab will contain both annual reports and 10K filings for the company.
Some companies may also link their annual reports and and 10K filings on their website.
IBISWorld has fantastic in-depth industry information, covering the US. Navigate through all the tabs along the left side of each industry report to find information. Select the "Major Companies" tab to see if your company plays a large role within the industry.
S&P Net Advantage provides access to Standard & Poor's investment research and commentary. It also includes financial data and standard ratios for companies and industries, stock reports, investment analyses, and mutual fund reports.
For more databases with industry research, visit this guide within the Business Resource Center.
Most of the news information you will need can be found in the databases listed above. For more databases with business news, visit this guide within the Business Resource Center.
