HIST 345: History of Espionage

Find books, e-books and more available at Helmke Library.

Search the full text of books. Copyright (as applicable) will prevent you from reading the full text in Google. If you find a book of interest, search Helmke Library's Catalog or WorldCat to locate a print or digital copy.

Search across two important scholarly article databases in history. You can also search Historical Abstracts (world history) and America: History and Life (American history) separately.

Full text searching of articles and books. If you find a journal article of interest, try the "cited by" link.

Search across many Helmke Library databases to find both primary sources and scholarly materials. After searching, try the filters at the left hand side. This is also a good place to look for items found in footnotes or a bibliography. If you don't find the full text of the item you're looking for, make a Document Delivery request. The "Everything" search is also the default search on the Library's homepage.

Search across many Helmke Library databases to find both primary sources and scholarly materials. After searching, try the filters at the left hand side. This is also a good place to look for items found in footnotes or a bibliography. If you don't find the full text of the item you're looking for, make a Document Delivery request. The "Everything" search is also the default search on the Library's homepage.

HathiTrust is a digital archive created by a consortium of universities in the U.S. It is particularly useful for finding the full text of documents that are out of copyright and/or in the public domain.

Scroll down to browse by collection or use the search option.

The FBI's Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Library; search or browse by category or an A to Z index.

National Security Agency/Central Security Service

A collection and guide hosted by George Washington University. See also The National Security Agency: Declassified.

Includes materials on Secretary Clinton emails, the Chile Declassification Project, Henry Kissinger Telephone Transcripts, and more.

Contains once-secret documents from governments across the globe, including documents related to the Cold War, Korea and nuclear proliferation.

The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration. After searching, you can narrow to Available Online.

Published by the Office of the Historian in the United States Department of State, the series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.

The U.S. Government Publishing Office's digital portal, with U.S. bills, laws, Congressional reports, presidential papers, Supreme Court documents, regulatory information and more. See also the Govinfo.gov Guide and the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.

Official archive and publisher for the UK government and for England and WalesIncludes digital collections, research guides and a searchable catalogue. See, for example, the transcript of the Threat of undercover German Spies.

From Proquest, a collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the twentieth century. Based on three print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the nineteenth century: British Documents on the Origins of the War; Documents on British Foreign Policy; and Documents on British Policy Overseas.

Search across Helmke Library's collection of ProQuest U.S. historical newspapers, including major newspapers, ethnic and African American titles, regional titles and more. Click on "Databases" to view available titles.

Historical coverage of major U.S. newspapers, including Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.

Current coverage (approx. 1990-current) full text of U.S. major daily newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, New York Times Book Review, New York Times Magazine, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.

If you want to search a specific publication, such as the New York Times, this tool will provide full text links and date coverage.

Russian-language guide to the Kremlin, with an English section. See also the Federal security service (FSB).

A guide to official documents, organized by country. Includes transcriptions, facsimiles and translations related to European history. For print versions, try looking for the item in the catalog or WorldCat.

A Canadian intelligence training camp active during World War II.

U.S. Congressional documents and debates (1774-1875).

Provides an overview of FRUS and selected online documents released in the early 2000s.

A companion website for a Nova documentary on code breaking. See also the BBC Enigma site.

Includes a guide to intelligence organizations in over 60 countries.

An extensive collection of George Washington's correspondence, including materials on his use of spies. From the Library of Congress' American Memory Collection.

Located in Washington D.C. Includes a multimedia gallery, online exhibits, and more. See also the Museum's Language of Espionage guide.

Provides a historical background, guide to online sources, and selected primary documents. Also includes a section on torture methods of the Polish UB, 1944-1963.

Also known as the MI6.

UK's Homeland Security Service

From the collections of the Clements Library.

Official archive and publisher for the UK government and for England and WalesIncludes digital collections, research guides and a searchable catalogue. See, for example, the transcript of the Threat of undercover German Spies.

Contains once-secret documents from governments across the globe, including documents related to the Cold War, Korea and nuclear proliferation.

The collection of declassified documents posted by the National Security Archive in 2017 that explains American and British roles in the August 1953 coup against Iranian Premier Mohammad Mossadeq.

Consult the options at the left hand side of the screen for info. on creating a bibliography. From the OWL Purdue Writing Lab.

From the University of Wisconsin Madison Writing Center

From the Georgetown University Library