Library: Hospitality and Tourism Management Resources: Career and Professional Development Resources

Job Boards

PFW Handshake PFW's Handshake allows you to find internships, job postings, and professional development events that will give you a head start on building an impressive résumé.
Hcareers Hcareers, the leading online hospitality job board in North America, is the top recruitment source for connecting employers and candidates within the hospitality industry. It's the recommended job board of the American Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA), Preferred Hotel Group (PHG), and others.
NTA Career Center Career resources and job board from the National Tour Association.
Hospitality Online Hospitality Online is one of the leading hospitality recruitment platforms in the U.S. For job seekers, the site provides a simple and intuitive search option to browse available hospitality jobs by state, category, or popularity.

National Restaurant Association
Founded in 1919, the National Restaurant Association is the leading business association for the restaurant industry. Join to stay informed about the latest issues impacting the restaurant and food-service industry.
American Hotel and Lodging Association
AHLA is the largest hotel association In the U.S. representing all segments of the industry nationwide including major chains, independent hotels, management companies, REIT’s, bed and breakfasts, industry partners and more.
Club Management Association of America
This is the largest professional association for club management professionals. By joining, you’ll have access to the resources you need for efficient and successful club operations, including access to a members-only job board.
National Tour Association
The National Tour Association is a trade organization of thousands of tourism professionals involved in the growth and development of the packaged travel industry.
Indiana Restaurant & Lodging Association
The mission of InRLA is to educate, advocate and celebrate Indiana's hospitality industry. Membership ranges from industry owners, operators, staff and suppliers, to educators and students. The restaurant and lodging industries play an integral role in Indiana’s economy, employing over 400,000 Hoosiers and generating nearly $30 billion in revenue statewide.

PFW Career Development Center The Career Development Center is where students and alumni connect with northeast Indiana’s leading companies. Born to lead and educated to succeed, students and alumni offer employers real-world experience and knowledge honed by the rigorous requirements of a prestigious Purdue degree.
Better Business Bureau Better Business Bureau (BBB) helps consumers identify trustworthy businesses, and those that aren’t, through more than 6.3 million BBB Business Profiles.
Occupational Outlook Handbook The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a publication of the United States Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics that includes information about the nature of work, working conditions, training and education, earnings and job outlook for hundreds of different occupations in the United States.
Allen County Health Inspection Records Provides access to inspection results by the Allen County Department of Health from the past three years for the following types of licensed facilities: retail food establishments, lodging establishments, tattoo & body piercing establishments, public swimming pools & spas and railroad camp cars.

Your Best Bets:

MarketLine This link opens in a new window Offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country profiles based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. Includes market overviews and market trends.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window Updated weekly, Mergent Online's U.S. Company Data and International Company Data (formerly available in part as Moody's Company Data) provides business and financial data on more than 15,000 U.S. public and 20,000 non-U.S. companies.
S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window Provides access to Standard & Poor's investment research and commentary. Includes financial data and standard ratios for companies and industries, stock reports, and mutual fund reports.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 information resources including newspapers, news magazines, wire services, and transcripts of major radio and TV broadcasts.

Other Great Resources:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window An EBSCO database, this resource provides indexing, abstracts and full text as far as 1886. Also included are detailed company information for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies. Data includes financials, subsidiaries, products, employees, industry information and more.
Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new window Value Line tracks the stocks of 1,700 companies in over 90 industries, providing information and analysis targeted to investors.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window This resource provides real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments, spanning mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds. The library has subscribed for one simultaneous user.

Your Best Bets:

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISworld has fantastic in-depth industry information, covering the US. Be sure to check out all the tabs along the top of each industry report.
S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Standard & Poor's investment research and commentary. Includes financial data and standard ratios for companies and industries, stock reports, and mutual fund reports.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country profiles based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. Includes market overviews and market trends.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Research reports covering the US and European marketplace. Each market research report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis consumer profiles, and demographic issues.

Other Great Resources:

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Updated weekly, Mergent Online's U.S. Company Data and International Company Data (formerly available in part as Moody's Company Data) provides business and financial data on more than 15,000 U.S. public and 20,000 non-U.S. companies.
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to a broad range of social science statistical data produced by U.S. federal agencies, state governments, and international intergovernmental organizations. It also contains the recent version of the Statistical Abstract of the United States.