There are other resources that can help you find the information you need. Here are some suggestions for finding different types of materials.
Some resources just don't fit any particular category and yet have information that could be very useful.
Sometimes you're not sure what you need or where to search. Dictionaries and encyclopedias can give you brief information on a topic or point you to related items or other resources.
These three databases contain many different dictionaries and encyclopedias covering a wide range of topics. You can search all the subjects and books at one time or only a few or even just one.
To look at some of the individual dictionaries and encyclopedias found in these databases, look at the Selected Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias box.
These are some of the specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias found in the Credo Reference, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Oxford Reference Online Premium databases.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion by 
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers by These books are in the Helmke Library collection.
Broadway: An Encyclopedia of Theater and American Culture by
"Broadway: An Encyclopedia of Theater and American Culture" is the first major reference work to explore just how much the "Great White Way" illuminates our national character. In two volumes spanning the era from the mid-19th century to the present, it offers nearly 200 entries on a variety of topics, including spotlights on 30 landmark productions--from "Shuffle Along" to "Oklahoma " to "Oh Calcutta " to "The Producers"--that not only changed American theater but American culture as well. In addition, "Broadway" offers thirty extended thematic essays gauging the powerful impact of theater on American life, with entries on race relations, women in society, sexuality, film, media, technology, tourism, and off-Broadway and noncommercial theater. There are also 110 profile entries on key persons and institutions--from the famous to the infamous to the all but forgotten--whose unique careers and contributions impacted Broadway and its place in the American landscape.
Encyclopedia of Asian Theatre by
From puppets to living players and musical speech to colloquial prose, Asian theatre is a rich world of contrasting expressions. While it has thrived for centuries and embodies the folk traditions of the Asian people, it also reflects contemporary concerns and innovative theatrical practices. At a time when Asia is of tremendous importance to the West, its theatre is a key to understanding its culture as well as the heritage of Asian Americans. This book is a detailed and authoritative survey of traditional and contemporary Asian theatre. The Encyclopedia includes hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries written by more than 90 expert contributors. Entries on the most important topics cite works for further reading, and the Encyclopedia closes with an extensive bibliography. Social studies students will appreciate its glimpses of Asian culture, while literature and drama students will value its exploration of the Asian theatrical tradition.
The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia by
The first encyclopedia of theatre songs from Broadway shows ranging from "The Black Crook" (1866) to the 1994 Tony Award-winning "Passion," this handy guide features over 1,800 songs from over 500 musicals. It gives such information as the songs' authors, original performers, and dates and history of recordings. Each song is described and briefly analyzed, explaining how the song fit in the original production and what is notable about its music, lyrics, and presentation. Thoroughly indexed by song title, show, authors, and performers. Of interest to scholars, students, and fans alike. The musical theatre song is conceived, written, and produced as part of a whole. While it may eventually stand on its own and join the ranks of popular hits, its immediate purpose is clear: it must work in the show. This book is about how hundreds of famous and not-so-famous songs have functioned in the American musical. In addition to identifying the authors and the source of the song, it hopes to explain the song: what kind of song it is, what it is about, what purpose it has in the show, as well as who originally sang it, what the song's history is, and what may be unique about this particular number. It is a book about songs as little pieces of playwriting for the musical theatre. The song entries are presented alphabetically, but the Musicals Listing at the end of the work includes all the songs discussed from a particular show.
Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre by
Originally intended as a single volume, this two-volume set includes nearly 3000 articles on the most productive people and the most produced works throughout most of the world for the last 150 years. Biographical articles are quite complete, some running to two pages and more, and include exhaustive lists of works written or performed. Articles on specific works include plot summaries and information on performers and production places, dates, and details.
If you're looking for information on a playwright, actor, director, designer, or other individual, you need biographical information.
Helmke Library has both print and online resources.
Critical Survey of Drama by
Provides in-depth profiles of dramatists.
