Library: Public Administration Resources: Data and Statistics

Ask a Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

260-481-6515

Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminal Justice, English & Linguistics, Government Information, History, International Language & Culture Studies, Literature, Philosophy & Religion, Political Science, Public Administration, Sociology, Women & Gender Studies

GSS Data Explorer
Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has studied American societal trends. GSS Data Explorer, from NORC at the University of Chicago, makes it easier than ever to use GSS data.

Roper Center iPoll This link opens in a new window
Includes downloadable datasets and basic polling results from several hundred thousand public opinion surveys from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University. Polling questions are full text searchable.
Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to a broad range of social science statistical data produced by U.S. federal agencies, state governments, and international intergovernmental organizations. It also contains the recent version of the Statistical Abstract of the United States.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Government Information: Statistics and Data
Provides selected government websites offering statistical reports. See also: https://www.usa.gov/statistics. From Nicholls State University.
Government Information Google Search
Search for your keywords along with site:.gov, e.g.: immigration statistics site:.gov
Data.Gov
Datasets generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) iLibrary provides statistics and analysis on topics such as economic development, employment, living standards and world trade. Also useful for cross-country comparisons.

These recommended books can help supplement your required statistics textbooks.