Library: HIST 432: 20th Century Latin American Revolutions: Home

Information Services and Instruction Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

260-481-6515

Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminal Justice, English & Linguistics, Government Information, History, International Language & Culture Studies, Literature, Philosophy & Religion, Political Science, Public Administration, Sociology, Women & Gender Studies

HIST 432: 20th Century Latin American Revolutions

Books

Helmke Library Catalog
Find books, e-books and more available at Helmke Library.
Helmke Library Quick Floor Guide
Book call numbers A-N are on floor 3 and P-Z are on floor 4.

Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Search and view the full text of ebooks.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search for books in over 7,000 libraries. After searching, you can use the "Request Item" link to borrow items from other libraries. After searching, you can also filter by "Book" to narrow your results.

Google Books
Search the full text of books (e.g. you can't access the entire full text in Google). Then, search Helmke Library's Catalog or WorldCat to locate a print or digital copy.

Scholarly Articles

Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life
Search across two important scholarly article databases in history. You can also search Historical Abstracts (world history) and America: History and Life (American history) separately.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of journals in many disciplines, including over 450 journals in history. You can narrow by date and also scroll down to narrow by discipline, including Latin American Studies. Also includes book reviews.
Fuente Académica Premier This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides extensive full-text coverage of Spanish-language scholarly content. This collection includes journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database, this resource provides abstracts and indexing of articles popular magazines, scholarly journals, and major newspapers in all fields of study, with several thousand titles available full text.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Full text searching of books and articles. If you find a title of interest, try the "cited by" link.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
An online bibliography on Latin America, with works selected and annotated by scholars (also includes Spanish-language content).

Reference Sources

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-reference books from a variety of publishers.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-reference books from a variety of publishers.
Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-reference books from Oxford University Press.

Primary Sources

Library Catalogs & Collections

Helmke Library Catalog
Helmke Library's Catalog includes primary sources, both in print and online. To find primary sources, you might search by author (for important historical figures), by publication date and with keywords such as: correspondence, documents, sources, memoirs, diaries, etc. You could also try adding the word translated to your search.
Library "Everything" Search
Search across many Helmke Library databases to find both primary sources and scholarly materials. After searching, try the filters at the left hand side. This is also a good place to look for items found in footnotes or a bibliography. If you don't find the full text of the item you're looking for, make a Document Delivery request. The "Everything" search is also the default search on the Library's homepage.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
If you've come across a book-length primary source and can't find it in Helmke Library Catalog, try WorldCat. After searching, you can use the "Request Item" link to borrow the item from another library.

Libraries -- Latin American Studies
A guide from LANIC, at the University of Texas, with links to libraries and other relevant resources.

Newspapers & Periodicals

Much of Helmke Library's newspaper and magazine content is either U.S.-based or focused on current coverage or pre-1925 coverage. That said, you can search U.S. publications for their coverage of Latin America and also access some important titles, including Spanish-language content. See also the Website tab.

Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text searching of U.S. newspapers. Includes a variety of titles, such as the Baltimore Afro-America (1893-1988), Baltimore Sun (1837-1991), Boston Globe (1872-1984), Chicago Tribune (1849-1992), Detroit Free Press (1831-1922), Los Angeles Times (1881-1992), New York Times (1851-2013), and Washington Post (1877-1999), among others.

ProQuest Periodicals
Includes mostly U.S. magazines and periodicals, with some foreign language titles. For example, includes Américas, Cuadernos Hispanoamericanos, and Archivo Ibero-Americano. Date coverage varies. It searches three ProQuest databases: American Periodicals, Periodicals Archive Online and Periodicals Index Online.

NewsBank Access World News Collection This link opens in a new window
Features credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources in all subject areas including political science, English, sociology, humanities, business, international studies, current events, science, and more.
NewsVault This link opens in a new window
Includes U.S. and British newspapers and periodicals. You can scroll down to select the collection you want to search.

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library (CNDL)
Digitized newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials from the Caribbean and Latin America. Includes both English and Spanish-langauge content.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
English and Spanish-language content. Date coverage is current and varies by title. To find newspapers and magazines by country, go to "Source Directory" at the top of the page and choose "Browse." Then, filter by the country of your choice. To see date coverage, click on the "i" next to the name of the publication.

ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies: Recent Coverage
Current coverage (approx. 1990-current) full text of U.S. major daily newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, New York Times Book Review, New York Times Magazine, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.

Informe Academico This link opens in a new window
Separate Spanish and English search interfaces provide access to articles in more than 100 popular Spanish-language magazines and pamphlets. Includes indexing, images, and full-text.

Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s. See the "Timeline" for date coverage.
LANIC Newpapers: Mexico
A list of newspapers in Mexico, with links to their websites. You could try looking for these titles in the E-journal Finder. See also the LANIC Cuba page
E-Journal Finder
If you know the name of a magazine or periodical (i.e. Nation), you can search for it here to find Helmke Library e-access and date coverage.

You can also try looking for newspapers and periodicals in primary source databases.

Primary Source Databases

HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a digital archive of books and other materials. Full text access for many pre-1923 and other public domain materials. You can search either the catalog or the full text.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full text searching and PDFs of U.S. official documents, including the Pentagon Papers, U.S. Statutes at Large, Presidential Library, Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS), as well as a Supreme Court Library, Treaties and Agreements Library, Women and the Law, Legal Classics and World Constitutions Illustrated, among others.

World Scholar: Latin America & The Caribbean This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more.
Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
The database includes a collection of declassified documents regarding critical U.S. foreign and military policy decisions since 1945.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covers major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond.
Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries and presented in the original: English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. It also features dictionaries of the Creole spoken in these countries.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
An extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and about the feminist movement.
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents This link opens in a new window
This collection of primary documents, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women.

Websites & Digital Archives: Latin America

20th Century Latin America
Selected primary source documents, from Fordham University.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
From Harvard, includes mostly Spanish and Portuguese-language materials.
Latin American Travelogues
A digital collection from Brown University. You can browse by country.
Latin American & Caribbean Digital Primary Sources
Open access digitized collections of primary sources from Latin America and the Caribbean, organized by region and country. From SALALM - Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials.
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
From the University of Texas.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
Created by a consortium of universities, libraries and other organizations.
Online Primary Sources on Latin America
A list compiled by Johns Hopkins University, organized by topic and geography.
Oxford Latin American Economic History Database
Includes 20th Century statistical information.
Selected Internet Resources -- Emory University
Latin American and Caribbean Studies guide from Emory University
Che Guevara Internet Archive - Marxist Internet Archive
Includes a library, biography, images and speeches.
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
A large collection of digitized items from Princeton University. You can browse by genre, language, geographic subject, geographic origin, date and subject.
Latin American Posters Collection
Includes nearly 4,000 posters from a variety of Latin American countries, from Princeton University and just one part of their larger digital collection.
CLACSO Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales (Network of Virtual Libraries)
A Spanish-language site from Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales (Latin American Council of Social Sciences), with a 12,000-plus volume library of digitized books, working papers and more.

Websites & Digital Archives: Cuba

Castro Speech Data Base
Speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996, from LANIC.
Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC) Collection
Includes a number of online collections, including digitized posters, photos and manuscripts, from Miami University Libraries.
Discursos e intervenciones de Fidel Castro
Speeches by Castro from 1959 until 2008. Older speeches are in Spanish only. From cuba.cu.
Sandy Lilydahl Venceremos Brigade Photograph Collection, UMass-Amherst Libraries
Includes 35 digitized photos, captions, from an American delegation traveling to Cuba in 1970.

Citation Guides & Tools

Chicago Manual of Style - Purdue OWL
Consult the options at the left hand side of the screen for info. on creating a bibliography. From the OWL Purdue Writing Lab.
Chicago/Turabian Documentation Style
From the University of Wisconsin Madison Writing Center
Turabian Footnote/Endnote Style
From the Georgetown University Library

A Pocket Guide to Writing in History by Mary Lynn Rampolla A Pocket Guide to Writing in History is a brief, inexpensive, and easy-to-use guide to the writing and research skills needed for undergraduate history courses. Its concise yet comprehensive coverage of every step of the research and writing process—including detailed advice on documenting sources and avoiding plagiarism—have made A Pocket Guide to Writing in History the trusted choice in history.
ISBN: 9781457690884
Publication Date: 2015-01-16