Library: EDU 608 Legal Perspectives On Education: Home

Director of Helmke Library

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Librarian

(260) 481-6502

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Education, Geosciences, Health & Medicine, Mathematical Sciences, Psychology, Writing for Publication

Information Services and Instruction Librarian

Emily Tock

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

260-481-6515

Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminal Justice, English & Linguistics, Government Information, History, International Language & Culture Studies, Literature, Philosophy & Religion, Political Science, Public Administration, Sociology, Women & Gender Studies

EDU 608 Legal Perspectives On Education

Landmark Cases

HeinOnline: U.S. Supreme Court Library
Find the full text of U.S. Supreme Court opinions.
Oyez
Listen to and read the transcript of U.S. Supreme Court cases, available since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.

Legal Documents: Indiana Code and Statutes

Indiana Code
All of the current laws of Indiana codified or arranged into 36 broad subjects called titles. Click on Title 20 for Education. This version is freely available on the website of the Indiana General Assembly.
Indiana Administrative Code
Official rules of Indiana state agencies. You can search by keyword or by the Indiana Code number.
Indiana General Assembly
Includes links to the Indiana Code, bills, laws, committees and much more.

Legal Documents: Federal Laws and Statutes

United States Code
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 50 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full text searching and PDFs of U.S. official documents, including U.S. Statutes at Large, Law Journal Library, Presidential Library, Supreme Court Library, Women and the Law, and Legal Classics, among others.

Legal Documents: Courts of Indiana Decisions & Case Records

Google Scholar
Choose "Case law" to search for court cases. After searching, you can narrow by the court and by year.
Find Law - Indiana Legal Research Case Law
Includes a helpful list of links for doing Indiana legal research. For example, includes: Indiana Court of Appeals Opinions and Indiana Supreme Court Opinions.
Indiana Courts: Decisions & Case Records
Provides Indiana Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, Tax Court, and Trial Court decisions and opinions.

2015 Deskbook Encyclopedia of American School Law by Center for Education and Employment Law (Editor)
Call Number: LB2514 .D47 2015
ISBN: 1058-4919
Publication Date: 2014-08-29
Provides extensive coverage of education law, including relevant cases.

Articles: Law Reviews

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This database includes a useful collection of law reviews, as well as many business journals. Try adding either law or legal to your search to find the law journals.

HeinOnline Law Journal Library
Search the full text of a large collection of law review journal articles.

Articles: Examples of Law Journals & Periodicals

Education law journal by Carswell Company
Publication Date: 1988-
The Indiana lawyer
Publication Date: c1990-
also available at https://www.theindianalawyer.com/
Journal of law & education (Online)
Call Number: Periodical K10 .J826
Publication Date: 1972
Online from 01/01/1999 to present. Printed version in Helmke Library from 1978-2011.
The Yearbook of education law by Stephen B Thomas
Call Number: LB2514 .Y39
ISBN: 1049-0264
Publication Date: 1988-1990,1995-
A yearly publication that provides summaries and analysis of federal and state court decisions concerning schools and education. Also contains references to international law.
Tip: Use the Search Within this Publication: box on the right-hand side of the screen to search through all the available issues of the yearbook online.

E-Journal Finder (New)
If you're looking for a specific journal, newspaper or magazine, such as Newsweek, search for it here to find e-access and date coverage.

Articles: Education & Interdisciplinary Databases

Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 900 educational publications, including more than 600 in full text.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database, this resource provides abstracts and indexing of articles popular magazines, scholarly journals, and major newspapers in all fields of study, with several thousand titles available full text.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts and indexing of articles for more than 600 English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Over 250 of the titles are provided full text, cover to cover.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing of articles in nearly 800 journals aimed at professional educators, updated daily, with more than 500 titles available full text.

Library "Everything" Search
Search across many Helmke Library databases to find both primary sources and scholarly materials. After searching, try the filters at the left hand side. This is also a good place to look for items found in footnotes or a bibliography. If you don't find the full text of the item you're looking for, make a Document Delivery request. The "Everything" search is also the default search on the Library's homepage.

Articles: News Sources

Indy Star
Try also doing a Google search with Indy Star as one of your search terms. For example, you might try a search for: indy star indiana charter schools legislation

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. Also contains selective full text for more than 300 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 information resources including newspapers, news magazines, wire services, and transcripts of major radio and TV broadcasts.

Books

Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Search and view the full text of ebooks.

Helmke Library Catalog
Find books, e-books and more available at Helmke Library.

2015 Deskbook Encyclopedia of American School Law by Center for Education and Employment Law (Editor)
Call Number: LB2514 .D47 2015
ISBN: 1058-4919
Publication Date: 2014-08-29
Provides extensive coverage of education law, including relevant cases.

Websites: Additional Sources

Chart Source: http://www.in.gov/judiciary/2681.htm

Diagram of the U.S. Court System

Chart Source: http://www2.maxwell.syr.edu/plegal/scales/court.html

See also the map of the U.S. District Courts and Court of Appeals

Websites: Indiana

Indiana Department of Education - Office of Legal Affairs
Provides information on several education/school law areas such as contracts, forms, and special education due process.
Indiana Department of Education - Office of Special Education - Laws, Rules and Interpretations
Information about Indiana's Special Education rules (511 IAC Article 7).
Indiana State Teachers Association
This advocacy organization provides analysis and viewpoints on education legislation in Indiana.

Websites: Education Law Overviews

Education Law: An Overview
Produced by Cornell Law School, this site offers education law resources, including a descriptive overview of education law.
FedLaw > Federal Laws and Regulations > Education
The Center for Regulatory Effectiveness offers a selection of Web sites dealing with federal laws and regulations pertaining to education.
Education Law - FindLaw
Organized links to various education law resources, including issues related to public and private schools.
U.S. Department of Education - Laws & Guidance
An overview of major education related laws and regulations.

Websites: About State and Federal Courts

Learn about Indiana's Court System
This guide to understanding the structure and processes of Indiana Courts is made available by the Indiana Supreme Court's Courts in the Classroom project.
Organizational Chart of the Indiana Judicial System
Scroll down to see a chart on the structure of Indiana courts.
more...less...
Visual hierarchy of Indiana courts available from courts.IN.gov.
Court Role and Structure (U.S. Federal Courts)
Descriptions offered by the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts.
Introduction To The Federal Court System
Overview of the Federal Court Systems. Produced by the United States Department of Justice

Citation Guides & Tutorials

Reading Legal Citations
Pointers on how to interpret legal citations from the Boston College Law Library.
Legal Citations: How to Read a Legal Citation
Hugh & Hazel Darling Law Library, UCLA School of Law.
Citing Legal Materials in APA Style
Citeus Legalus
For citing the Indiana Code. See also: Indiana Legal Research Statutes.

Navigation

EDU 608 Legal Perspectives On Education

Director of Helmke Library

Information Services and Instruction Librarian

EDU 608 Legal Perspectives On Education

Landmark Cases

• Nexis Uni: Indiana Supreme Court Cases from 1817

Legal Documents: Indiana Code and Statutes

Legal Documents: Federal Laws and Statutes

Legal Documents: Courts of Indiana Decisions & Case Records

Articles: Law Reviews

Articles: Examples of Law Journals & Periodicals

Articles: Education & Interdisciplinary Databases

Articles: News Sources

Books

Websites: Additional Sources

Websites: Indiana

Websites: Education Law Overviews

Websites: About State and Federal Courts

Citation Guides & Tutorials