Library: HIST 382: The Sixties: Primary Source Databases

Primary Source Databases

Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 36,000 primary documents relating to the historical events and social movements of the 1960s.
American Song (now known as Music Online: American Music) This link opens in a new window
American Song is an eclectic collection of music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America’s past and present.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Contains the works of more than 900 historically important African American authors, dating from Colonial times to present.
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 This link opens in a new window
This collection from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) library contains more than 88,000 documents pertaining to the federal surveillance of African Americans from 1920-1984.
Liberation Movement in Africa and African America This link opens in a new window
FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People’s Revolutionary Party.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
This database includes primary and secondary source material on the history of women and social movements in the U.S. from 1600 through 2000.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Contains the works of more than 900 historically important African American authors, dating from Colonial times to present.