Library: HIST 314: Europe from the New World to Napoleon: Primary Source Databases

Ask a Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

260-481-6515

Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminal Justice, English & Linguistics, Government Information, History, International Language & Culture Studies, Literature, Philosophy & Religion, Political Science, Public Administration, Sociology, Women & Gender Studies

You may also be able to find materials from these databases in the Library Everything Search (the default search on the Library's homepage).

Gale Primary Sources
Search across over thirty-five Gale primary source databases. Click the down pointing arrow to view and select specific databases.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text searching of electronic facsimiles of over 180,000 titles published in Great Britain and North America in the eighteenth century.
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Covers 1450-1850. Provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth.
Sabin Americana: 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Contains primary documents relating to the Americas dating from 1500 to 1926.
Slavery & Anti-Slavery: a Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
An historical archive that embraces the scholarly study of slavery in a comprehensive, conceptual, and global way.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Presents citations and images for over 125,000 works from such sources as Pollard & Redgrave's Short Title Catalog (1475-1640), Wing's short-title catalog (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).

State Papers Online This link opens in a new window
This resource provides a manuscript archive of original materials from 1509 to 1782 covering British and European history.
U. K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
Includes papers from the House of Commons (1700-present) and House of Lords (1800-1910) as well as Public Petitions to Parliament (1833-1918) and Hansard (1803-2005). The Parliamentary Papers are an essential primary source for Britain, its colonies, and the wider world.