Library: WOST 30106 Women and Faith: Global Perspectives: Home

Contact Your Librarian

Emily Tock

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

260-481-6515

Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Complete
Includes an extensive interdisciplinary collection of both scholarly articles and popular magazines. You can limit to "Scholarly" after searching. Also, you can use OR between similar words, e.g. muslim OR islam.
Anthropology Plus
Indexes journals, monographs, and monograph series in multiple languages from the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary studies.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes research literature from the fields of sociology and related disciplines such as anthropology, community development, demography, political science, social psychology, welfare services and women's studies.
Sociology Database (ProQuest)
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work with full-text coverage of more than 180 journals, including many core titles from Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest)
A collection of databases, including IBSS, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, this resource covers over 5,000 titles in anthropology, communication science, demography, economics, human services, political science, policy studies, psychology, and sociology.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910
This collection of primary source material from British archives explores the study and analysis of gender, leisure, and consumer culture. Of interest to those studying history, literature, sociology, education, and cultural studies from a gendered perspective.
JSTOR
Full text searching of scholarly journals across a wide variety of disciplines, including over 150 religion journals, as well as journals in feminism and women studies, the social sciences, and anthropology.
Project MUSE
Full text searching of scholarly journals covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and others.

Books

Helmke Library Catalog
Find books, e-books and more available at Helmke Library.

Proquest Ebook Central
Search and view the full text of ebooks.
WorldCat
Search for books in over 7,000 libraries. After searching, you can use the "Request Item" link to borrow items from other libraries.

Reference Sources

The below two sources can be useful for finding definitions or looking up basic factual information, but such reference materials often don't include scholarly articles or books.

The Princeton Encyclopedia of Islamic Political Thought
A to Z entries on the evolution of Islamic political ideas including movements, places, and schools of thought. Fifteen substantive entries also cover key topics, such as Muhammad, jihad, gender, culture, and pluralism.

Narrowing Your Topic: Online Guides and Tips

Forming a Research Question
This graphic gives a quick overview of how to think about formulating a research question.
Finding a Research Question
This 1-page handout provides tips on finding a good research question. Adapted from Turabian's (2010) Student's Guide to Writing College Papers.
Writing a Good Research Question
This website goes into more depth about writing research questions. It may also be helpful for your future Honors courses. From Grand Canyon University.

Is Your Journal Scholarly
This handout is a quick reminder of how to identify scholarly articles. When looking for scholarly articles, remember to check for a: 1) bibliography (and/or footnotes) as well as 2) the author's affiliation.

Citation Guides

The online and print guides below are based on the Chicago Manual of Style. If you're unsure about what style to use or have questions about how to cite, ask your professor or a librarian:

Chicago Manual of Style (Author-Date System)
From Williams College Libraries
Chicago Manual of Style - Purdue OWL
Consult the options at the left hand side of the screen for info. on creating a bibliography. From the OWL Purdue Writing Lab.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); University of Chicago Press Staff (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by)
Call Number: LB2369.T8 2013

ISBN: 9780226816371

Publication Date: 2013
The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago. Press.
Call Number: Z253 .C57

Print available at multiple locations