Library: ET 106 Introduction To Engineering Technology: Books & More

Contact Your Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Information Services and Instruction Librarian

(260) 481-6511

Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering & Engineering Technology, English & Linguistics, Organizational Leadership, Physics

Reference Sources

Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Provides a single interface for searching more than 20 Oxford encyclopedias and 175 language and subject dictionaries and reference works, including the Oxford Companion series, Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, and Visual English Dictionary. Covers all areas of science, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and business.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An electronic (e-reference) collection providing access to entries in over 500 encyclopedias and other reference works. Also provides access to art, science, and medical images, audio pronunciation files and atlas images of places and geographic features throughout the world.

Articles

Use FIND IT when the full text of an article is not available! FIND IT will link to the article in another library database or direct to Document Delivery Service to request for the article. For example, Compendex has no full text content and therefore will require use of FIND IT.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and access to the full text of materials published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), including journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings, newsletters, and publications of affiliated organizations.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. Provides access to active standards, as well as historical standards (2000-present).
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to peer-reviewed records of research in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and a growing number of related disciplines, including theoretical and experimental papers and quality magazines focusing on practical applications in research, design and specification.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of technical papers, journal articles, books, and conference proceedings on optics and photonics.
Begell Digital Portal This link opens in a new window
"A comprehensive online multimedia platform that hosts full-text peer-reviewed journals, databases, references, eBooks, conference proceedings, and multimedia products that provide the latest research data and information across a broad spectrum of engineering and biomedical sciences and applied works."
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A full-text scientific database offering science, medical and technical (STM) journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and over 11,000 books.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature in the scientific, technical, medical, social science, arts, and humanities fields. This resource includes over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, of which 19 million records include references going back to 1996 and 19 million pre-1996 records go back as far as 1823.
Conference Papers Index This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic references to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world with emphasis on environmental, aquatic, and life sciences. Older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database for mathematics research information.
Wiley Online Library (formerly InterScience) This link opens in a new window
Online content service from John Wiley & Sons delivering the full text of over 1300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals and over 800 books.

engrXiv: Engineering Archive
An open repository of working papers, pre-prints, published papers, data and code for the sharing of engineering knowledge with a wide audience.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A specialized Google search engine that limits your search to scholarly material in a multitude of disciplines combed from Web sites, databases, and publication lists of the world's major academic publishers, scholarly and professional societies, and university repositories.

E-Journal Finder
Find E-Journals (electronic journals) by Journal title.

Business & Industry Databases

Business databases are particularly important for industry and company research. Information about companies that deal with certain products of interest to engineering students especially when working on design projects.

Occupational Outlook Handbook The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a publication of the United States Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics that includes information about the nature of work, working conditions, training and education, earnings and job outlook for hundreds of different occupations in the United States.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld includes 35-50 page reports on over 700 US Industries in the US economy.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country profiles based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. Includes market overviews and market trends.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database, this resource provides indexing, abstracts and full text as far as 1886. Also included are detailed company information for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies. Data includes financials, subsidiaries, products, employees, industry information and more.
Health Business FullTEXT This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from nearly 130 journals dealing with hospital administration and management, and health care administration.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Updated weekly, Mergent Online's U.S. Company Data and International Company Data (formerly available in part as Moody's Company Data) provides business and financial data on more than 15,000 U.S. public and 20,000 non-U.S. companies.
S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Standard & Poor's investment research and commentary. Includes financial data and standard ratios for companies and industries, stock reports, and mutual fund reports.

Writing & Citation Help

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): Writing in Engineering
These OWL resources will help you write in a wide range of engineering fields, such as civil and computer engineering.
more...less...
This section contains resources on conducting research, working in teams, writing reports and journal articles, as well as presenting research. This section also contains the material from the Indiana Department of Transportation (INDOT) - Purdue Writing Lab Workshop Series and the material from the Engineering Projects in Community Service (EPICS) resources.
IEEE Citation Style
An overview of IEEE Citation with examples
APA Citation Style: OWL
Purdue Online Writing Lab's comprehensive guide to writing citations, reference lists, endnotes and more in APA style. This site also includes formatting tips, sample papers, and FAQs.

EndNote Web This link opens in a new window
EndNote Web is a bibliographic management tool that allows users to collect, organize, and share citation information. It is compatible with most proprietary databases and indexes. Use the Cite While You Write™ download to input citations into Microsoft Word.

Zotero
Zotero is a citation program with both a browser plug-in and free software. It is especially useful for keeping track of your citations. It is a project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media.

A Guide to Writing as an Engineer by David F. Beer; David McMurrey; Beer; David A. McMurrey
Call Number: T11 .B396 2009
ISBN: 0470417013
Publication Date: 2009-03-23
This brief, easy-to-use guide to the essentials of technical writing is designed specifically to meet the needs of engineers, focuses on reports, business letters, office memoranda and e-mail, as well as oral presentations using PowerPoint and applying for jobs using the Internet.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); University of Chicago Press Staff (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by)
Call Number: LB2369.T8 2013
ISBN: 9780226816371
Publication Date: 2013