Women's Studies Resources: Basic References

This abridgment of The Glossary of Feminist Theory is tailored specially to students, providing the terms that they will most commonly encounter.

This succinct handbook includes more than 1,000 entries covering the persons, organizations, campaigns and court cases, goals and achievements, and current and future directions of the feminist movement, 75 percent of which are new and revised from the first edition. An expanded chronology and a thoroughly revised and updated bibliography round out this comprehensive reference.

Documents the achievements, current challenges, and status of women in more than 130 countries, addressing women's issues ranging from education to violence.

The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality. The encyclopedia is divided into two volumes: Topics and Cultures.

The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality is the foremost reference work on sexual behavior throughout the world at the beginning of a new millennium.

A rich heritage that needs to be documented Beginning in 1869, when the study of homosexuality can be said to have begun with the establishment of sexology, this encyclopedia offers accounts of the most important international developments in an area that now occupies a critical place in many fields of academic endeavors. It covers a long history and a dynamic and ever changing present, while opening up the academic profession to new scholarship and new ways of thinking.

Biographical dictionary with entries on significant numbers of women from a broad spectrum of ethnic, class, political, religious, and sexual identities are all acknowledged and whose death dates fall between January 1, 1976 and December 31, 1999.

Biographical dictionary covers the lives of exceptional women throughout three and a half centuries of American history.

A one-volume encyclopedic reference to those extraordinary women form around the globe who have made their mark in every division of achievement. More than 260 detailed entries are grouped by each woman's claim to fame.

An extensive and fascinating collection of stories featuring both famous and everyday women, giving a well-rounded view of the lives of women in the ancient world.

Volume 1: Heritage, Roles, and Issues; Volume 2: Mental and Physical Health; Volume 3: Feminism as Human Rights.
Overview essays on a wide variety of feminist issues include references and excellent bibliographies.

Discusses the state of women in the United States, including stereotypes and discrimination, jobs and the workplace, income and poverty, child and elder care, education, health, crime by and against women, and the special problems facing female minorities.

Essays and statistics on women's leadership in areas including countries, ethnic groups, religions, professions, movements, and academic disciplines.

This encyclopedia surveys the scientific research on gender throughout the ages-the people, experiments, and impact-of both legitimate and illegitimate findings on the scientific community, women scientists, and society at large.

The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Theory provides an overview of the analytical frameworks and theoretical concepts feminist theorists have developed to challenge established knowledge. Leading feminist theorists, from around the globe, provide in-depth explorations of a diverse array of subject areas, capturing a plurality of approaches. The Handbook raises new questions, brings new evidence, and poses significant challenges across the spectrum of academic disciplines, demonstrating the interdisciplinary nature of feminist theory.

Profiling nearly 5,000 women, this is the most comprehensive, easy-to-use chronology of women's experiences and achievements throughout world history. From Cro-Magnon childbirth and ancient Egyptian cosmetics to Janet Reno and the Tailhook scandal, the breadth, diversity, and accessibility of this work make it invaluable for identifying the accomplishments and circumstances of women in any given historical period. Entries are arranged by year or group of years in an easy-to-use format of ten subject categories. Here the reader will find information concerning such topics as women's legal rights, life expectancy, medical care, daily tasks, women in politics, business, and other areas.

This truly monumental work maps the literature of women's studies, covering thousands of titles and Web sites in 19 subject areas published between 1985 and 1999. Intended as a reference and collection development tool, this bibliography provides a guide for women's studies information for each title along with a detailed, often evaluative review. The annotations summarize each work's content, its importance or contribution to women's studies, and its relationship to other titles on the subject. Core titles and titles that are out of print are noted, and reviews indicate which titles are appropriate as texts or supplemental texts.

Often ignored in bibliographies and indexes, U.S. government documents provide a rich resource for understanding the status of American women. Huls' two-volume bibliography provides easy subject access to some 7,000 documents on social and employment issues, spanning nearly two centuries. Annotated