Library: Psychology Resources: Psychology Resources

Psychology Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Librarian

(260) 481-6502

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Education, Geosciences, Health & Medicine, Mathematical Sciences, Psychology, Writing for Publication

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
An international database treating psychology and related disciplines such as social work, psychiatry, pharmacology, medicine, nursing, education, law, linguistics and business. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters, reports, theses and dissertations.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR) This link opens in a new window
INCLUDES ALL UPDATES, TR, AND REVISIONSThe American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders.

PSY-140 Critical Foundations Psychology
by Shannon Johnson Last Updated Nov 5, 2024 46 views this year
Health and Medical Resources
by Shannon Johnson Last Updated Nov 5, 2024 669 views this year

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
This online reference collection provides full-text access in PDF and html formats to more than 200 major reference works published since 2000, including encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and handbooks by publishers such as Berkshire, Cambridge, Macmillan, Sage, Scribner, Sharpe, St. James, Thomson Gale, and Wiley.

Sources which will aid in using the style prescribed by the American Psychological Association.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: Ask at First Floor Desk
ISBN: 9781433832161
Publication Date: 2019
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.

Example Journal Citation:

Smith, D., & Hammond, J. (2021). Fake: This article. Journal of Randomness, 8(3), 27–75. DOIgoeshereifavailable

Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides access to information on questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, and tests in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science to help users identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska, this resource can be used for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. It contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to all known commercially available English-language tests currently in print.

American Psychological Association
"The mission of the APA is to advance the creation, communication and application of psychological knowledge to benefit society and improve people’s lives."
National Institute of Mental Health
"The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure.For the Institute to continue fulfilling this vital public health mission, it must foster innovative thinking and ensure that a full array of novel scientific perspectives are used to further discovery in the evolving science of brain, behavior, and experience. In this way, breakthroughs in science can become breakthroughs for all people with mental illnesses."
American Psychiatric Association
"The American Psychiatric Association, founded in 1844, is the world’s largest psychiatric organization. It is a medical specialty society representing more than 36,000 psychiatric physicians from the United States and around the world. Its member physicians work together to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental disorders, including intellectual developmental disorders and substance use disorders. APA is the voice and conscience of modern psychiatry."