Library: Education Resources: Journal Articles and More

Director of Helmke Library

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Librarian

(260) 481-6502

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Education, Geosciences, Health & Medicine, Mathematical Sciences, Psychology, Writing for Publication

Education Databases

These education-specific databases provide access to articles in both scholarly and trade publications as well as videos.

Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Offers abstracts and indexing of articles for more than 600 English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Over 250 of the titles are provided full text, cover to cover.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, to provide extensive access to education-related literature.
Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 900 educational publications, including more than 600 in full text.
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Education in Video provides resources for both new and experienced teachers tools to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms.
Education Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from 1910 to 2015, and aimed at teachers and other educational professionals. Shows the evolution of educational policy, practice, and theory during this period. Also includes content pertaining to social history, psychology, and childhood studies.
MAS Complete This link opens in a new window
Periodicals contained in MAS Complete cover a wide range of subject areas that are of interest to high-school students including art, history, sports, music, film, travel, science, the Internet, fashion, religion, nature, hobbies, current events, fiction and much more.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing of articles in more than 180 periodicals aimed at middle and junior high school students, updated daily, with more than 150 periodicals, hundreds of pamphlets, and several reference works available full text, including Essential Documents in American History. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Primary Search This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing of articles in more than 90 children's periodicals, updated weekly, with more than 60 periodicals, 100 pamphlets, and several reference works available full text, including World Almanac for Kids.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing of articles in nearly 800 journals aimed at professional educators, updated daily, with more than 500 titles available full text.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This free resource provided by EBSCOhost indexes and abstracts more than 280 trade journals aimed at teachers and educational administrators.

Note: Use FIND IT when the full text of an article is not available. FIND IT links to other library databases or directs to Document Delivery Services.

Other Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database, this resource provides abstracts and indexing of articles popular magazines, scholarly journals, and major newspapers in all fields of study, with several thousand titles available full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a searchable full-text collection of the complete backfiles of more than 1500 important scholarly journals and contains many primary sources.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Purdue University Fort Wayne Kanopy subscription includes film and video content covering topics such as Art & Artists; Ethnicity and Identity; Health and Wellness; Historical Perspectives; Latin American Studies; LGBTQ Stories; Media and Popular Culture; Politics and Current Affairs; Science, Nature, & Technology; Women & Society; and World Cinema.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES is produced by the American Psychological Association (APA) and contains full-text articles for over 50 peer-reviewed journals published by the APA and allied organizations from 1894 to the present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
An international database treating psychology and related disciplines such as social work, psychiatry, pharmacology, medicine, nursing, education, law, linguistics and business. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters, reports, theses and dissertations.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in PsycINFO. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text resource provides access to the most important English-language social science journals.
Sociology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work with full-text coverage of more than 180 journals, including many core titles from Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

Finding Online Journals

E-Journal Finder

When you want to search in a specific journal, you can use the E-Journal Finder to find an online version.

Document Delivery

Document Delivery (Interlibrary Loan)

When the full text of an article is not available in any of the library's resources (one you found in a library database or one you found elsewhere), Document Delivery can be used to request the article from another library.