Library: Health and Medical Resources: Psychiatric & Mental Health

Contact Your Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Librarian

(260) 481-6502

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Education, Geosciences, Health & Medicine, Mathematical Sciences, Psychology, Writing for Publication

Databases for Mental Health and Nursing

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database, CINAHL provides monthly updated indexing of more than 5,000 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health and publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League of Nursing, covering 1937 to present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
An international database treating psychology and related disciplines such as social work, psychiatry, pharmacology, medicine, nursing, education, law, linguistics and business. Includes journal articles, books, book chapters, reports, theses and dissertations.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. For help using PubMed, please see our Guide to PubMed

In addition to article databases, the library has access to a collection of streaming videos related to mental health nursing.

Selected Psychiatric Nursing/Mental Health Web Sites

Google is useful for finding Web sites. Check out Google's Cheat Sheet for tips on using Google more effectively. The library also has guides and tutorials to help you navigate the Web.

Another great tool for locating health-related Web sites is MedlinePlus. MedlinePlus will lead you to Web sites that will answer medical questions. These Web sites have been reviewed for authority by experts from the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. Sites found through MedlinePlus are great starting points and are particularly useful for patients.

United States Department of Health and Human Services, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, National Mental Health Information Center
This government-sponsored body provides information via a toll-free number, their Web site, and multiple publications.
National Institute of Mental Health
The NIMH is one component of the National Institutes of Health and is the main federal entity responsible for supporting research on the mind, brain and behavior. Several mental health topics are covered on this site.
The Alliance for the Implementation of Clinical Practice Guidelines (“AiCPG” or “The Alliance”)
The Alliance for the Implementation of Clinical Practice Guidelines (AiCPG or The Alliance) is a 501(c)(3) exempt organization created and operated exclusively for the charitable, educational, and scientific purposes of freely disseminating evidence-based clinical practice guideline information to the healthcare community in order to educate clinicians to improve patient care.
National Mental Health Association
The NMHA is the largest and oldest non-profit mental health organization in the United States.
National Alliance on Mental Illness
NAMI is the National Alliance on Mental Illness, the nation’s largest grassroots mental health organization dedicated to building better lives for the millions of Americans affected by mental illness. NAMI advocates for access to services, treatment, supports and research and is steadfast in its commitment to raise awareness and build a community for hope for all of those in need.
QSEN: Quality and Safety Education for Nurses
The overall goal for the Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) project is to meet the challenge of preparing future nurses who will have the knowledge, skills and attitudes (KSAs) necessary to continuously improve the quality and safety of the healthcare systems within which they work.
Alzheimer's Association
The Alzheimer's Association envisions a world without Alzheimer's disease and supports research into all aspects of the disease.
American Association of Suicidology
This is an education and resource organization seeking to understand and prevent suicide.
American Psychiatric Nurses Association
This important nursing association promotes leadership in mental health nursing, seeks to improve mental health care for diverse patient groups, and seeks to shape policies related to mental health issues.
American Psychological Association
The APA is the professional organization that represents psychology in the United States.
Carter Center
The Carter Center sponsors a Mental Health Program led by Rosalyn Carter to help decrease the stigma attached to mental illness and increase public awareness of mental illness.
Historic Asylums
This site is a portal to other sites containing information about historical mental health institutions. Many images can be found throughout the sites linked here.
Indiana Council of Community Mental Health Centers
ICCMHC is a trade association that represents and advocates for behavioral health providers across the state of Indiana.
Health and Medicine Division (HMD)
The Health and Medicine Division (HMD) is a division of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (the National Academies). The National Academies are private, nonprofit institutions that provide independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation and conduct other activities to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions related to science, technology, and medicine. The Academies operate under an 1863 congressional charter to the National Academy of Sciences, signed by President Lincoln.

More Psychology Resources

PSY-140 Critical Foundations Psychology
by Shannon Johnson Last Updated Nov 5, 2024 44 views this year
Psychology Resources
by Shannon Johnson Last Updated Nov 5, 2024 865 views this year