Library: HIST 310: Russian Revolutions and Soviet Regime: Home

HIST 310: Russian Revolutions and Soviet Regime

Books

Helmke Library Catalog
Use Library Search to find books, journals, media, and digital resources. Does not include articles.

Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Search and view the full text of ebooks.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
After searching, you can use "Request Item" link to borrow items from other libraries.

Searching with Subject Headings

You can experiment with the subject heading links below or copy and paste these terms into the Subject field. You can find additional subject headings in the detailed record for books .

Scholarly Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Includes access to an extensive collection of scholarly articles across many disciplines. You can limit by Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of journals in many disciplines, including over 450 journals in history. You can scroll down to narrow by discipline. Also includes book reviews.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of journals in the humanities and social sciences, including history. After searching, you can limit by subject, year, and more.

Selected Websites

Soviet Memoir Literature in English Translation
A bibliography of titles from UW Madison Libraries. Try searching for titles of interest in the library catalog or WorldCat.
Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System
Summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War.
Russian Posters Collection, 1919-1989 and undated
From Duke University

Primary Source Databases

World Newsreels Online, 1929-1966 This link opens in a new window
Full runs of selected international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century, including Universal Newsreels, Universal Studios, Les Actualites Francaises, Nippon News and The March of Time.
Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window
Primary materials including the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and selected proceedings from conferences.
Chatham House Online Archive 1920-2008 This link opens in a new window
This resource contains the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), the independent international affairs policy institute founded in 1920 following the Paris Peace Conference.
Primary Sources (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Gale Primary Sources combines Gale's digital archives in a single cross-search interface that provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.

Newspapers

Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of the Chicago Tribune (1849-1990), Los Angeles Times (1881-1990), New York Times (1851-2010), and Washington Post (1877-1997).
Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-1985 This link opens in a new window
Full text searching of the Time of London, a major British news source.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
An illustrated weekly newspaper from the United Kingdom.
NewsVault This link opens in a new window
Full text searching of the backfile of a number of British newspapers including the Times of London, The Literary Times Supplement, the Economist, the Financial Times, and more.

Magazines and Periodicals

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
Full text searching of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from 1665 through 1995. Also includes more than 60 foreign-language titles.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
Find both scholarly and popular journals, from 1665 to 1995. Includes titles such as Soviet Russia Today, Documents on American Foreign Relations, and the New Leader. Includes some selected foreign language titles.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text searching of British periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth century. Includes titles such as the The English Review and the Saturday review of politics, literature, science and art.

Government Documents and Published Collections

U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Includes some coverage of WWII, with most declassified documents culled from the Cold War and Vietnam era.

Nazi-Soviet Relations 1939-1941
From the Avalon Project at Yale.
Foreign Relations of the United States
Official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication

Soviet Culture and Power by Katerina Clark (Editor); Oleg V. Naumov (Compiled by); Evgeny Dobrenko (Editor); Andrei Artizov (Compiled by); Marian Schwartz (Translator)
ISBN: 9780300106466
Publication Date: 2007-09-28
Included in the volume are "decisions of the Politburo, Stalin’s correspondence with individual intellectuals, his responses to particular plays, novels, and movie scripts, petitions to leaders from intellectuals, and secret police reports on intellectuals under surveillance. Introductions, explanatory materials, and a biographical index accompany the documents."
Documents on the Holocaust by Yitzhak Arad (Editor); Yisrael Gutman (Editor); Abraham Margaliot (Editor); Lea Ben Dor (Translator)
ISBN: 0803210507
Publication Date: 1999-09-01
Includes over 200 documents related to the Holocaust.

Reference Sources

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 200 reference works published since 2000, including encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and handbooks.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text access to encyclopedias and other reference works

Oxford Companion to World War II
Call Number: D740 .O94 2001
Publication Date: 2001

Selected Print Reference Books

Biographical Dictionary of World War II by Mark A. Boatner
ISBN: 0891415483
Publication Date: 1996-09-01
"Concise, fact-filled biographical sketches of the personages who shaped and directed the events of this titanic conflict."--BOOK JACKET. Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Soviet Union: A Biographical Dictionary by Archie Brown (Editor)
ISBN: 0028970713
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Some 1,400 biographies cover leading personalities from 1917 to the present, paying special attention to politicians, journalists, social scientists, and writers who have contributed to glasnost.
World War II: A Statistical Survey by John Ellis
Call Number: STACKS D744 .E45 1993
ISBN: 0816029717
Publication Date: 1993-10-01

Maps

IUB's Cyrillic Map Collection
Indiana University Bloomington has a large collection of Soviet military topographic maps. There is an interactive index map and IUB is in the process of digitizing the collection.
Soviet 1:200,000 maps
Soviet Union and Afghanistan topographic maps at 1:200,000. Developed with support from Chris Thiry at Colorado School of Mines.
MSU Map Library: Links to Useful Sites
This guide, from the Michigan State University Libraries, includes links to a number of major online map collections.

Citation Guides

Chicago Manual of Style - Purdue OWL
Consult the options at the left hand side of the screen for info. on creating a bibliography. From the OWL Purdue Writing Lab.
Chicago/Turabian Documentation Style
From the University of Wisconsin Madison Writing Center
Turabian Footnote/Endnote Style
From the Georgetown University Library

The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago. Press.
Call Number: Z253 .C57
Print available at multiple locations

Navigation

HIST 310: Russian Revolutions and Soviet Regime

Contact Your Librarian

HIST 310: Russian Revolutions and Soviet Regime

Books

Searching with Subject Headings

Scholarly Article Databases

Selected Websites

Primary Source Databases

Newspapers

Magazines and Periodicals

Government Documents and Published Collections

Reference Sources

Selected Print Reference Books

Maps

Citation Guides