Library: HIST 232: World in the 20th Century: Home

Information Services and Instruction Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

260-481-6515

Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminal Justice, English & Linguistics, Government Information, History, International Language & Culture Studies, Literature, Philosophy & Religion, Political Science, Public Administration, Sociology, Women & Gender Studies

HIST 232: World in the 20th Century

Reference Sources

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of e-reference books, including encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries, from a variety of publishers.

Books

Helmke Library Catalog
Find books, e-books and more available at Helmke Library.

Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Search and view the full text of ebooks.

Scholarly Article Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of journals in many disciplines, including over 450 journals in history. You can narrow by date and you can also scroll down to narrow by discipline. Also includes book reviews.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database offers an extensive collection of scholarly articles in world history. You can also limit by historical period. Try the "PDF Full Text" link or the "Find-It" button to access the full text.

Google Scholar
Full text searching of articles and books. If you find a journal article of interest, try the "cited by" link.
Library "Everything" Search
Search across many Helmke Library databases. This is also a good place to look for items found in footnotes or a bibliography. If you don't find the full text of the item you're looking for, make a Document Delivery request.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database, this resource provides abstracts and indexing of articles popular magazines, scholarly journals, and major newspapers in all fields of study, with several thousand titles available full text.

Films

Helmke Library's DVD collection is located on the back wall of the first floor, adjacent to the stairwell and restrooms. If you have questions, you can ask at the first floor Library Service Desk.

Citation Guides

Chicago Manual of Style - Purdue OWL
Consult the options at the left hand side of the screen for info. on creating a bibliography. From the OWL Purdue Writing Lab.

Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new window
Online official version of the Chicago Manual of Style.

A Pocket Guide to Writing in History by Mary Lynn Rampolla A Pocket Guide to Writing in History is a brief, inexpensive, and easy-to-use guide to the writing and research skills needed for undergraduate history courses. Its concise yet comprehensive coverage of every step of the research and writing process—including detailed advice on documenting sources and avoiding plagiarism—have made A Pocket Guide to Writing in History the trusted choice in history.
ISBN: 9781457690884
Publication Date: 2015-01-16