"The DiRT Directory is a registry of digital research tools for scholarly use. DiRT makes it easy for digital humanists and others conducting digital research to find and compare resources ranging from content management systems to music OCR, statistical analysis packages to mindmapping software."
A user-friendly network visualization and analysis tool designed for beginners to network mapping, with a simpler platform that is still able to map, visualize, analyze and communicate complex data. Tutorials are available as well as a Demo page with a guided tour to help get you started.
"Open-source data visualization framework built with the goal of making the visual representation of complex data easy for everyone." For explanations, tutorials, and other help, please see the RAWGraphs Learning site.
"Allows scholars, students, and curators to tell stories with maps and timelines." A suite of add-on tools for Omeka. It includes a Neatline User Community Documentation page with links to tutorials and guides.
A map wiki with data about roads, trails, cafes, railway stations, and more, all available free for use under an Open Data Commons license. For explanations, tutorials and other help, please see the Video tutorials wiki and help page.
Open-source software that lets you combine authoritative maps with narrative text, images, and multimedia content. There is a Story Maps Basic Tutorial as well as other help available on the Resources page.
Upload a spreadsheet to create and publish a timeline linked with images and mapped locations. The homepage holds a quick tutorial, and several other tutorials are available on other sites, like this one from the University of Texas or this one from School of Data.
Content management system (CMS) to install on a site you host yourself. Flexible and customizable and useful for advanced projects. The Drupal site includes many resources, including a User Guide, a community-developed Tutorials page, and a First Time User Guide.
"Omeka provides open-source web publishing platforms for sharing digital collections and creating media-rich online exhibits." There are many Omeka tutorials available online. An official Omeka S User Manual is also available as well as step-by-step instructions for how to Build a Website.
"Scalar is a free, open source authoring and publishing platform that’s designed to make it easy for authors to write long-form, born-digital scholarship online." A User's Guide is available and includes help for Getting Started.
A freeware corpus analysis toolkit for concordancing and text analysis. Laurence Anthony, the author of the software, provides user support like this usage guide and video tutorials on the AntConc software page.
A Java-based package for statistical natural language processing, document classification, clustering, topic modeling, information extraction, and other machine learning applications to text. The University of Massachusetts (creator of MALLET) provides a tutorial presentation and video tutorial, as well as quick start guides.
A document mining application originally built for investigative journalists, also used for legal work, training machine learning models, and research of all types. Overview's help page provides instruction on usage and features.
Text Encoding and Interchange: A consortium providing tools, support, and guidelines specifying encoding methods for machine-readable texts. Includes TAPAS Project (for archiving and publishing), Roma (for customizations), OxGarage (for conversions), stylesheets, and a wiki tools page. Included are a number of tutorials to Teach Yourself TEI.Or check out TEI by Example for tutorials, examples, exercises and more for help in learning TEI.
A web-based text reading and analysis environment that facilitates reading and interpretive practices for digital humanities work. Voyant Tools Help provides guides, tutorials, workshops, and additional information about using Voyant.