Library: HIST 305: The Cold War: Reference & Maps

Maps

IUB's Cyrillic Map Collection
Indiana University Bloomington has a large collection of Soviet military topographic maps. There is an interactive index map and IUB is in the process of digitizing the collection.
Soviet 1:200,000 maps
Soviet Union and Afghanistan topographic maps at 1:200,000. Developed with support from Chris Thiry at Colorado School of Mines.
MSU Map Library: Links to Useful Sites
This guide, from the Michigan State University Libraries, includes links to a number of major online map collections.

Encyclopedia of Russian History by James R. Millar 1936-2008, editor.
Call Number: DK14 .E53 2004
ISBN: 0-02-865907-4
Publication Date: 2004
Four volumes. Helmke Library also has a print copy.
Soviet Union: A Biographical Dictionary by Archie Brown (Editor)
ISBN: 0028970713
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Some 1,400 biographies cover leading personalities from 1917 to the present, paying special attention to politicians, journalists, social scientists, and writers who have contributed to glasnost.
Soviet Culture and Power by Katerina Clark (Editor); Oleg V. Naumov (Compiled by); Evgeny Dobrenko (Editor); Andrei Artizov (Compiled by); Marian Schwartz (Translator)
ISBN: 9780300106466
Publication Date: 2007-09-28
Included in the volume are "decisions of the Politburo, Stalin’s correspondence with individual intellectuals, his responses to particular plays, novels, and movie scripts, petitions to leaders from intellectuals, and secret police reports on intellectuals under surveillance. Introductions, explanatory materials, and a biographical index accompany the documents."

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
This online reference collection provides full-text access in PDF and html formats to more than 200 major reference works published since 2000, including encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and handbooks by publishers such as Berkshire, Cambridge, Macmillan, Sage, Scribner, Sharpe, St. James, Thomson Gale, and Wiley.
Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Provides a single interface for searching more than 20 Oxford encyclopedias and 175 language and subject dictionaries and reference works, including the Oxford Companion series, Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, and Visual English Dictionary. Covers all areas of science, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and business.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An electronic (e-reference) collection providing access to entries in over 500 encyclopedias and other reference works. Also provides access to art, science, and medical images, audio pronunciation files and atlas images of places and geographic features throughout the world.