HIST 325: Public History

PFW Helmke Library's Digital Archive

Created and managed by Purdue University Fort Wayne students. Includes a podcast series called Byte-Sized History and posts on the Northside Project and the Fort Wayne Daisies.

At Indiana University. Includes the Indiana University Bicentennial Oral History Project, as well as an option to "Browse Our Interviews." See also Indiana University Oral History Archive 1991-1998.

Ball Sate University Libraries' collections include the Muncie Labor Oral History Project Collection, Middletown Digital Oral History Collections and the Muncie High School Consolidation Oral History Project..

See also Purdue Archives & Special Collections Oral History Program.

Recordings made in 1946 by Chicago's Illinois Institute of Technology professor David Boder.

Indiana Authors and Their Books is an LSTA–funded project based on the digitization and encoding of the 3–volume reference work, Indiana Authors and Their Books, published by Wabash College in 1949, 1974, and 1981. The encyclopedia covers nearly two hundred years of Indiana's literary history (1816–1980), and contains approximately 7,000 author entries. Each of the author entries, in turn, contains a bibliography collectively referencing close to 21,000 citations.

From the Columbia University Libraries Oral History Research Office. With over 10,000 interviews (not all are available online), the Columbia Center for Oral History has one of the largest oral history collections in the U.S.

From the The Franco-American Center (Centre Franco-Américain), based at the University of Maine at Orono

A list of digital oral history projects and archives.

From Harvard University

From USC Libraries, with oral histories and other documents.

Includes several large collections, such as the Civil Rights History Project, the Federal Writers' Project 1936-1944, the Occupational Folklife Project, the Veteran's History Project and the Tibetan Oral History Archive Project.

Part of the Minnesota Immigrant Oral Histories site at the Minnesota Historical Society.

Includes university, community and veteran histories, with over 32,000 pages of searchable transcripts.

From the UNC Center for the Study of the American South.

A large collection of testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Includes both open access content and subscription-only content.

A searchable index of scholarly digital repositories related to the history of Europe. You can do keyword searching or browse by country, time period, subject or type of source.

From the Historical Archives of the European Union. Includes oral histories of European politicians and officials.

A project done in collaboration with Yale University, with digital content available from the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library.