HIST 350: History of American Medicine

Search and view the full text of ebooks.

Search for books in over 7,000 libraries. After searching, you can use the "Request Item" link to borrow items from other libraries.

Includes a large collection of scholarly journals by historians. You can limit by "Historical Period." After searching, you can limit by "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals."

Search the full text of journals in many disciplines, including over 450 journals in history. You can scroll down to narrow by discipline. Also includes book reviews.

Search the full text of journals in the humanities and social sciences, including history. After searching, you can limit by subject, year, and more.

An EBSCO database, this resource provides abstracts and indexing of articles popular magazines, scholarly journals, and major newspapers in all fields of study, with several thousand titles available full text.

Hint: Try searching for "History of Medicine" along with other keywords specific to your research. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, with 4,600 national and international journals, 1950-present.

PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. For help using PubMed, please see our Guide to PubMed

Coverage includes 1823 to current, with options to limit by date. A full-text scientific database offering science, medical and technical (STM) journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and over 11,000 books.

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature in the scientific, technical, medical, social science, arts, and humanities fields. Includes options to search for materials before 1960.

This online reference collection provides full-text access in PDF and html formats to more than 200 major reference works published since 2000, including encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and handbooks by publishers such as Berkshire, Cambridge, Macmillan, Sage, Scribner, Sharpe, St. James, Thomson Gale, and Wiley.

A collection of 500 U.S. newspapers from the 19th century. Full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.

Provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 information resources including newspapers, news magazines, wire services, and transcripts of major radio and TV broadcasts.

Includes Associated Press Corporate Archives and AP Images providing the history and back story of the Associated Press with decades' of wire copy, correspondence, memos, and internal publications.

One of the largest collections of videos for the study of American history that can be streamed instantly over the Internet. Historical coverage ranges from earliest history of Native Americans to the 1988 Vincennes Affair in the Persian Gulf.

An archival collection of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive) including current events, international relations, and public policy. Date coverage varies and includes 1918-2015.

Dates vary, covering 1846-2005. Consists of the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines, including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, WIN News, and Woman's Day.

A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, including every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out.

Full text searching and PDFs of U.S. official documents, including the Pentagon Papers, U.S. Statutes at Large, Presidential Library, Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS), as well as a Supreme Court Library, Treaties and Agreements Library, Women and the Law, Legal Classics and World Constitutions Illustrated, among others.

Coverage is 1945-current. The definitive annual reference for studying the U.S. Congress. Offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation considered, and includes review and analysis of legislation and policy for each year and roll call votes for all major legislation.

A collection of primary source material that documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States, and the evolution and impact of public health legislation, policies, and campaigns at the local, national, and federal levels.

Tells the story of medical advances during warfare from the mid-nineteenth century to the outbreak of the influenza epidemic in 1918 and the discovery of penicillin in 1927. The wealth of documents cover multiple conflicts as well as interwar developments from a range of perspectives. Material has been sourced from across the United States, the United Kingdom, and Canada to enable comparisons on key areas of systematic reform, improvements to sanitation and the treatment of disease, rehabilitation, nursing care, surgical techniques, and wound treatment. Includes information about the Crimean War, the American Civil War, the First World War, the Boer Wars, and the Spanish-American War.

Documents the history of ‘popular’ remedies and treatments in nineteenth century America, through primary source materials drawn from the extensive collections at the Library Company of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. Covers popular trends such as phrenology, herbal medicine, and hydrotherapy, and documents the rise of widespread advertising by commercial manufacturers of medical aids.

This collection is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century.

This resource is a comprehensive source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. C19 Index provides integrated access to 13 bibliographic indexes.

Provides full-text searching of electronic facsimiles of over 180,000 titles published in Great Britain and North America in the eighteenth century.