Data and Datasets

CSD records bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic information for:

organic molecules
metal-organic compounds

whose 3D structures have been determined using

X-ray diffraction
neutron diffraction

The CSD records results of:

single crystal studies
powder diffraction studies

NGDC provides stewardship, products, and services for geophysical data from our Sun to Earth and Earth's sea floor and solid earth environment, including Earth observations from space.

The GSA Data Repository was established in 1974. It is an open file in which authors of articles in our journals can place information that supplements and expands on their article. These supplements will not appear in print but may be obtained from GSA.

One Stop Source for environmental and natural resources data, at anytime, from anywhere, to anyone. The Gateway allows you to choose your area of interest, browse and select data from our catalog, customize the format, and have it downloaded or shipped on CD or DVD.

GCMD holds more than 28,000 Earth science data set and service descriptions, which cover subject areas within the Earth and environmental sciences. The project mission is to assist researchers, policy makers, and the public in the discovery of and access to data, related services, and ancillary information (which includes descriptions of instruments and platforms) relevant to global change and Earth science research.

NODC maintains and updates a national ocean archive with environmental data acquired from domestic and foreign activities and produces products and research from these data which help monitor global environmental changes. These data include physical, biological and chemical measurements derived from in situ oceanographic observations, satellite remote sensing of the oceans, and ocean model simulations.

The National Hydrography Dataset (NHD) is the surface water component of The National Map. The NHD is a digital vector dataset used by geographic information systems (GIS). It contains features such as lakes, ponds, streams, rivers, canals, dams and streamgages. These data are designed to be used in general mapping and in the analysis of surface-water systems.

High precision ground surface elevation data for the United States, maintained by the USGS.

The IRIS DMC archives and distributes data to support the seismological research community. Products include waveforms, event data, station metadata, and historical data.

NASA's permanent archive for space science mission data. Space science means astronomy & astrophysics, solar and space plasma physics, and lunar and planetary science. Archives > 130 TB of data, 7 TB of the most important data are available for digital download.

NASA funded project to support and provide to the astronomical community a variety of astronomical data archives, with the primary focus on scientifically related data sets in the optical, ultraviolet, and near-infrared parts of the spectrum. MAST is located at the Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI).

(operated by CDS)
Interactive software sky atlas allows the user to visualize digitized astronomical images, superimpose entries from astronomical catalogues or databases, and access data from object archives.

(UKSSDC)
International archive of solar-terrestrial physics (STP) data, world-wide STP instrument locator

(operated by CDS)
Provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system

(operated by CDS and ESA-ESRIN)
Access to 10934 published astronomical catalogues and data tables available online. Optimized to query some very large catalogues such as UCAC2, USNO-B1, and 2MASS's last release.

Contains over 3 million objects, out of them 1.5 million are certainly galaxies (with a high level of confidence).

Built around a master list of extragalactic objects for which cross-identifications of names have been established, accurate positions and redshifts entered to the extent possible, and some basic data collected. Bibliographic references relevant to individual objects have been compiled, and abstracts of extragalactic interest are kept on line. Detailed and referenced photometry, position, and redshift data, have been taken from large compilations and from the literature. NED also includes images from 2MASS, from the literature, and from the Digitized Sky Survey. NED's data and references are being continually updated, with revised versions being put on-line every 4-6 months.