Library: NURSB 290 Transcultural Healthcare: Getting Started

Nursing Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Librarian

(260) 481-6502

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Education, Geosciences, Health & Medicine, Mathematical Sciences, Psychology, Writing for Publication

NURSB 290 Transcultural Nursing: Background Info

To find background information on your culture, start with these resources. They can provide credible information that is hard to find from journal articles.

Countries and Their Cultures
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0028649508
Presents the cultural similarities within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a standard entry format for easy comparison. Provides illustrations, photographs and maps
Encyclopedia of the Stateless Nations by James Minahan
Call Number: D860 .M56 2002
ISBN: 0313316171
Publication Date: 2002-05-30
This book provides an easy-to-use, accurate, and up-to-date guide to over 300 developed or emerging national groups worldwide. Providing fuller historical profiles of each group, this is the definitive reference on the nationalism and national groups that helped shape 20th century politics--and will likely shape the politics of tomorrow. Included are numerous new national groups that have emerged since the publication of Minahan's 1996 book. Many of these remain unknown outside of their own regions. Others make headlines. The evolution of each group is traced from its earliest history to the present day, making the book an indispensable reference for those wishing to understand the world's growing multitude of national groups.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by Sharon Malinowski (Editor)
Call Number: E77 .G15 1998
ISBN: 0787610852
Publication Date: 1998
t contains basic subjects including religion, history, customs, and current tribal issues. Some entries have an oral-literature section that introduces stories, legends, and other relevant pieces by Native tellers. Profiles of prominent tribal members, both historical and contemporary, are also provided.
Asian American History and Culture: an Encyclopedia by Huping Ling; Allan W. Austin
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 1317476441
Publication Date: 2015
With overview essays and more than 400 A-Z entries, this exhaustive encyclopedia documents the history of Asians in America from earliest contact to the present day. Organized topically by group, with an in-depth overview essay on each group, the encyclopedia examines the myriad ethnic groups and histories that make up the Asian American population in the United States. "Asian American History and Culture" covers the political, social, and cultural history of immigrants from East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, the Pacific Islands, and their descendants, as well as the social and cultural issues faced by Asian American communities, families, and individuals in contemporary society. In addition to entries on various groups and cultures, the encyclopedia also includes articles on general topics such as parenting and child rearing, assimilation and acculturation, business, education, and literature. More than 100 images round out the set.

World Health Organization Country Profiles
All countries which are Members of the United Nations may become members of WHO by accepting its Constitution. Other countries may be admitted as members when their application has been approved by a simple majority vote of the World Health Assembly. Territories which are not responsible for the conduct of their international relations may be admitted as Associate Members upon application made on their behalf by the Member or other authority responsible for their international relations. Members of WHO are grouped according to regional distribution (194 Member States).

Books

Books-

Helmke Library has a fairly good collection of books covering cultures. Some are specifically about medicine and culture, while others are more broad in focus. You can use the library catalog to locate books by culture. They are spread out across the library so the catalog is very important. More information is available on the Books tab of this guide.

Examples:
Cultural diversity in health and illness - RA418.5.T73 S64 2009
Pocket guide to cultural health assessment - RT86.54 .G45 2007
Culture shock!. Germany - DH471 .E55 2003

Helmke Library Catalog
Use Library Search to find books, journals, media, and digital resources. Does not include articles.

Scholarly Article Databases

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database, CINAHL provides monthly updated indexing of more than 5,000 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health and publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League of Nursing, covering 1937 to present.
Medline with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, Medline indexes over 4,600 national and international journals covering all areas of medicine. Full text for more than 1,400 journals with coverage back to 1936.

Websites

Websites -

The web can be a good place to find basic cultural information. But you need to make sure you are using a reputable site.

Here are a few things to look for:
- Is the website produced by a credible person or organization? For example: the United States government or federal agency, official site for a country, United Nations, World Health Organization, Red Cross, or other internationally non-governmental organizations.
- Does the website tell you how they found their infromation? Look for citations or links to research.
- Is the information old? Does it list a date it was written or updated?
- For more information on judging a website, check out our Is Your Website Credible checklist.

EthnoMed
EthnoMed contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to Seattle or the US, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world.
Health in the Americas - Pan American Health Organization
official updated report that the Pan American Sanitary Bureau presents to the 29th Pan American Sanitary Conference on the health situation, its determinants, and trends in the Region of the Americas.
CDC Refugee Health Profiles
Contains information on refugee groups such as Bhutanese Refugees, Congolese Refugees, and Iraqi Refugees
Health Reach (Formerly Refugee Health Information Network)
RHIN is a national collaborative partnership that has created a database of quality multilingual, public health resources for those providing care to resettled refugees and asylees. Resources include: health education materials in various languages and formats (brochures, fact sheets, videos), provider tools (including information on refugee populations and cultures), and links to related Web sites.
American Indian Health
This Web resource on American Indian Health, sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, is designed to bring together health and medical resources pertinent to the American Indian population including policies, consumer health information, and research. Links are provided here to an assortment of documents, Web sites, databases, and other resources.
Native American Health
MedlinePlus page for Native American Health. MedlinePlus links to health information from the National Institutes of Health and other federal government agencies. MedlinePlus also links to health information from non-government Web sites. See our disclaimer about external links and our quality guidelines.