Library: Engineering and Technology Resources: Standards

Associate Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Information Services and Instruction Librarian

(260) 481-6511

Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering & Engineering Technology, English & Linguistics, Organizational Leadership, Physics

Definition

A standard is a rule or guideline for a product, process, material, or method created to establish uniformity, interchangeability, or quality. A standard is typically developed by professional organizations, which also update the standard regularly.

Library Resources for Locating Standards

Electronic Resources

ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. Provides access to active standards, as well as historical standards (2000-present).
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to peer-reviewed records of research in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and a growing number of related disciplines, including theoretical and experimental papers and quality magazines focusing on practical applications in research, design and specification.

Print Resources

Architectural Graphic Standards by Andy Pressman (Editor); American Institute of Architects Staff
Call Number: TH2031 .A84
ISBN: 9780471700913
Publication Date: 2007-03-30
Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards by Leonard J. Hopper (Editor)
Call Number: SB472 .H57
ISBN: 9780471477556
Publication Date: 2006-10-13
Planning and Urban Design Standards by Frederick R. Steiner; Kent Butler; American Planning Association Staff
Call Number: TH2031 .P55
ISBN: 9780471760900
Publication Date: 2006-09-29
Time-saver standards for interior design and space planning by Joseph DeChiara; Julius Panero; Martin Zelnik
Call Number: NK2110 .T48
ISBN: 0071346163
Publication Date: 2001

Request Items

Document Delivery (Interlibrary Loan)
Request items not owned by Helmke Library. This free service is an easy way to access almost any published book or article of interest. This will take approximately 1-2 days for digital items and 1-2 weeks for physical media.

Organizations Developing Standards

American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO)
American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
ANSI Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal
This page provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). They are offered at no cost in “read only” format.
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)
American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) International Standards Worldwide
ASSIST Quick Search
This page provides direct access to Defense and Federal specifications and standards available in the official DoD repository, the ASSIST database.
International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
National Fire Protection Association
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Society of Motion Picture & Television Engineers
This organization is the standards development body for motion imaging standards.

Obtaining/Purchasing Standards

ACCURIS Standards Store
Provides online shopping access to standards and specifications from more than 460 technical societies around the world.
International Code Council (ICC)
ICC develops the codes and standards used to construct residential and commercial buildings, including homes and schools. ICC sells international codes as well as state amendments.
Techstreet
Order international codes and standards, or set up an automatic Techstreet Tracker alert to receive notification when an industry standard is amended, revised, or withdrawn.
Document Delivery (Interlibrary Loan)
Request items not owned by Helmke Library. This free service is an easy way to access almost any published book or article of interest. This will take approximately 1-2 days for digital items and 1-2 weeks for physical media.