Skip to main content

Communication Resources: Resources for Graduate Students

A guide to help you find, evaluate, and use communication resources.

Contact the Librarian

Denise Buhr's picture
Denise Buhr
Contact:
(260) 481-5759

Using the Catalog

Library Search
Browse:         Catalog        Databases        Online Journals

 

If Helmke Library doesn't have what you need, you can search libraries from around the world in WorldCat and then use Document Delivery to request items.

Scholarly Databases (Secondary Resources)

These databases are recommended by the subject librarians at Helmke Library but are not the only resources for the various disciplines.  If you wish to explore further, see the list under Topic Guides (found on the library's homepage.)

General Databases

Humanities

This includes includes resources for fields such as history and anthropology; literature, language, and linguistics; philosophy and religion; and the arts.

Social Sciences

This includes resources for fields such as business, communication, criminal justice, economics, education, political science, public affairs, psychology, sociology, and women's and gender studies.

Health Sciences

This includes resources for biology, chemistry, dental hygiene, nursing, and other health and medical fields.

STEM

This includes resources for computer science, engineering, math, earth sciences, and related science and technology fields.

Primary Resources

This includes resources that present direct or first-hand accounts of events, people, and places, and includes newspaper articles, news reports, and documentaries.  Many more primary resources, covering a wide array of subjects, can be found in other databases listed on the Topic Guides.