Academic Leadership

When faculty climb the ranks into leadership positions, they come with years of knowledge and experience, yet they are often blindsided by the delicate interpersonal situations and political minefields they must now navigate as university administrators. What are the specific skills that faculty need to acquire when they move into administrative positions, and how can they build upon their existing abilities to excel in these roles? What skills can other mid-level leaders learn to help in their positions? Using an engaging case study approach, Leading for Tomorrow provides readers with real-world examples that will help them reflect on their own management and communication styles. It also shows newly minted administrators how they can follow best practices while still developing a style of leadership that is authentic and uniquely their own. The book's case studies offer practical solutions for how to deal with emerging trends and persistent problems in the field of higher education, from decreasing state funding to political controversies on campus. Leading for Tomorrow gives readers the tools they need to get the best out of their team, manage conflicts, support student success, and instill a campus culture of innovation that will meet tomorrow's challenges.

In education, sorting students according to attainment is common. Such sorting clearly sets up the potential for exclusion, based on the attainment ideals and on the modes of selection. Ideals of inclusion suggest diversity, and those of equity, by reference to impartiality, suggest freedom from bias. Honors education, which celebrates excellence, and references â oehonor⠝ and all that word and concept infers, heightens and promotes the principled recognition of attainment, giving rise to questions of diversity, equity and inclusion.

More than 3,400 colleges and universities in the United States serve 20.5 million students. While each campus is unique, most campuses and institutions face common issues, including tenure and promotion; budgeting; competition among disciplines for space and funding; academic bullying; and issues of identity. These are just a few of the topics among the many vital areas of concern at schools across the country. In Bridges not Blockades, personal essays related to these cultural and political matters will allow faculty and administrators in higher education to see, hear, and better understand the inner workings of our institutions. Perhaps more importantly, this book demonstrates that faculty and staff at colleges and universities need to embrace our commonalities so that we can meet the challenges of higher education throughout the 21st century. Indeed, some of these essays may suggest ways in which faculty, staff, and administrators have moved from differences to commitment to shared goals to tackle new and existing challenges and opportunities. Perfect for courses such as: Higher Education Leadership and Policy | Leading Institutional Change | Ethics in Educational Leadership | Organization and Administration of Higher Education Leadership and Learning in Organizations | Leadership and Organizational Performance | Equity and Diversity in Higher Education | Negotiation in Educational Leadership

"Effective leadership meanswe must bring our values and mission - not just soundbites - to our activity inthe digital sphere. And it's not as hard as you may think, thanks to the verypractical examples and exercises Josie Ahlquist has given us in this book." Brandon Busteed, President-University Partners, Kaplan, Inc.  "Often, higher education leaders seesocial media as a burden. Digital Leadership in Higher Educationshouldbe required reading in any leadership program because it clearly demonstrateshow social media can and should extend leadership rather than be a burden forit." Russell Lowery-Hart, President- AmarilloCollege In this groundbreaking book, Josie Ahlquist provides readerswith the tools they need to take a strong, values-based approach to leadershipin the various digital spaces vital to the world of higher education today. Filled withreal-world examples and tools to negotiate this ever changing digitallandscape, the book fills an important niche in the literature: A user manualfor your digital leadership journey. Each chapter includes tools andtactics, as well as stories that bridge the gap between technology andconnection with community. This book doesn't have a recipe for cooking up thenext viral video, it offers lots of ways to stay true to individual andorganizational values while engaging online. Whether a college president, dean ofstudents, associate professor, or a program coordinator, there is a need for leaderswho aren't just early adopters and social media enthusiasts, but authenticindividuals who back up their technology use with a purposeful philosophy and avalues-based approach to their role.

Although academic freedom in teaching and learning methods is crucial to a nation's growth, the concept comes with numerous misnomers and is subjected to much academic debate and doubt. This volume maps out how truth and intellectual integrity remain the fundamental principle on which the foundation of a university should be laid.  Seeking to widen the frontiers of academic freedom, the authors serve up a diverse range of case studies and examples of real-life practice to encourage readers to recognize the importance of the academic freedom of faculty and students, and acknowledge this freedom as one of the main goals to be achieved by any university. Ultimately, the authors demonstrate that the autonomy to work freely remains the foremost criterion of success, that it is a pre-requisite to facilitating the advancement of knowledge and quality of research in any institution of higher education, and is to be encouraged and supported by the leadership teams within those institutions.

Higher Education Administration for Social Justice and Equityempowers all administrators in higher education to engage in their work--to make decisions, hire, mentor, budget, create plans, and carry out other day-to-day operations--with a clear commitment to justice, sensitivity to power and privilege, and capacity to facilitate equitable outcomes. Grounding administration for social justice as a matter of daily work, this book translates abstract concepts and theory into the work of hiring, socialization, budgeting, and decision-making. Contributed chapters by renowned scholars and current practitioners examine the way higher education administration is organized, and will help readers both question existing structures and practices, and consider new and different ways of organizing campuses based on equity and social justice. Rich with case studies and pedagogical tools, this book connects theory to practice, and is an invaluable resource for current and aspiring administrators.

When Stephen Lehmkuhle became the chancellor of the brand-new University of Minnesota-Rochester campus, he had to start from scratch. He did not inherit a legacy mission that established what the campus did and how to do it; rather, he needed to find a way to rationalize the existence of the nascent campus. Lehmkuhle recognized that without a shared understanding of purpose, the scope of a new campus expands at an unsustainable rate as it tries to be all things to all people, and so his first act was to decide on the driving purpose of the campus. He then used this purpose to make decisions about institutional design, scope, programs, and campus activities. Through personal and engaging anecdotes about his experience, Lehmkuhle describes how higher education leaders can focus on campus purpose to create new and fresh ways to think about many elements of campus operation and function, and how leaders can protect the campus's purpose from the pervasive higher education culture that is hardened by history and habit.

Lean Higher Education: Increasing the Value and Performance of University Processes, Second Edition (978-0-8153-7909-6, K339047) Shelving Guide: Business and Management / Higher Education / Lean Implementation In an environment of diminishing resources, growing enrollment, and increasing expectations of accountability, Lean Higher Education: Increasing the Value and Performance of University Processes, Second Edition provides the understanding and the tools required to return education to the consumers it was designed to serve - the students. It supplies a unifying framework for implementing and sustaining a Lean Higher Education (LHE) transformation at any institution, regardless of size or mission. Using straightforward language, relevant examples, and step-by-step guidelines for introducing Lean interventions, this authoritative resource explains how to involve stakeholders in the delivery of quality every step of the way. The author details a flexible series of steps to help ensure stakeholders understand all critical work processes. He presents a wealth of empirical evidence that highlights successful applications of Lean concepts at major universities and provides proven methods for uncovering and eliminating activities that overburden staff yet contribute little or no added value to stakeholders. Complete with standardized methods for correctly diagnosing workplace problems and implementing appropriate solutions, this valuable reference arms you with the understanding and the tools to effectively balance the needs of all stakeholders. By implementing the Lean practices covered in these pages, your school will be better positioned to provide higher quality education, at reduced costs, with efficient processes that instill pride, maximize value, and respect the long-term interests of your students, faculty, and staff. This second edition contains a substantial update with expanded material and reflects the significant growth of LHE practices in colleges and universities worldwide. Because of advances in best practices, as well as some modest research-based evidence, this second edition includes many enhancements that provide particular value to LHE practitioners and higher education (HE) leaders. Since the initial publication of Lean Higher Education in 2010, the challenges of cost and affordability, competition for students and faculty, and calls for efficiency and accountability have only continued to grow, requiring colleges and universities to pursue more radical and transformative change to ensure their success. This new edition provides a model for change based on more than 50 years of application in business and industry and almost 20 years in HE. It provides the information and evidence demanded by HE leadership to understand and embrace LHE as well as best practices processes and tools for implementing LHE in targeted areas or institution-wide. This book provides a conceptual framework for redesigning any university process, such as admitting students, paying a bill, hiring faculty, or processing a donor gift, in a way that delights the beneficiary of that process, respects the employees who support the process, and reduce the cost of the process.

2021 Choice Outstanding Academic Title As a major, public flagship university in the American South, so-called "Diversity University" has struggled to define its commitments to diversity and inclusion, and to put those commitments into practice. In Diversity Regimes, sociologist James M. Thomas draws on more than two years of ethnographic fieldwork at DU to illustrate the conflicts and contingencies between a core set of actors at DU over what diversity is and how it should be accomplished. Thomas's analysis of this dynamic process uncovers what he calls "diversity regimes": a complex combination of meanings, practices, and actions that work to institutionalize commitments to diversity, but in doing so obscure, entrench, and even magnify existing racial inequalities. Thomas's concept of diversity regimes, and his focus on how they are organized and unfold in real time, provides new insights into the social organization of multicultural principles and practices.

This book is a collection of short essays, accessible through open access, which takes the interested reader on a tour across the global higher education landscape. It addresses pertinent themes and challenges in higher education. To mark the 70th anniversary of the International Association of Universities (IAU) and its role in higher education since 1950, experts from around the world share their insights into higher education’s recent past, present and future.

Published in Association with eLearning has entered the mainstream of higher education as an agent of strategic change. This transformation requires eLearning leaders to develop the skills to innovate successfully at a time of heightened competition and rapid technological change. In this environment eLearning leaders must act within their institutions as much more than technology managers and assume the prime role of helping their institutions understand the opportunities that eLearning presents for faculty, for students, and for client organizations in the community. They need to prepare to participate in policy development around these opportunities. They must understand the multiple dimensions of practice in the field--operations, administration, and working within the complex culture of a higher education institution--while also functioning as scholars of the field who can bring the best ideas from other institutions to help shape policy around eLearning. The second edition builds on the success of the first edition and presents both the collective expertise of veterans who have pioneered the field for 20 years, and of a rising generation of eLearning leaders that are transforming online programs at their own institutions, to address these challenges. This edition has been updated and expanded to reflect the increasing complexity of the field with seven new chapters andthe revision of eight chapters that appeared in the first edition. New and updated topics include: The evolving role of the chief online learning officer Issues of diversity as more women and minorities enter leadership roles in the field The increasing role of learning analytics and data-based decisions The potential tensions involved in cohort-based versus individualized instruction The increasing need for faculty professional development The affordances of cloud computing, adaptive learning, artificial intelligence, the internet of things, and mobile learning to the field The open educational resources movement and the implications for institutional policy and practice The challenges of an increasingly complex competitive environment Accessibility There are few comparable positions in higher education than that of eLearning leaders who work across multiple academic and support units and whose work fundamentally affects the institution as a whole. This volume is written for them.

An evidence-based, action-oriented response to the persistent, everyday inequity of academic workplaces. Despite decades of effort by federal science funders to increase the numbers of women holding advanced degrees and faculty jobs in science and engineering, they are persistently underrepresented in academic STEM disciplines, especially in positions of seniority, leadership, and prestige. Women filled 47% of all US jobs in 2015, but held only 24% of STEM jobs. Barriers to women are built into academic workplaces: biased selection and promotion systems, inadequate structures to support those with family and personal responsibilities, and old-boy networks that can exclude even very successful women from advancing into top leadership roles. But this situation can--and must--change. In Building Gender Equity in the Academy, Sandra Laursen and Ann E. Austin offer a concrete, data-driven approach to creating institutions that foster gender equity. Focusing on STEM fields, where gender equity is most lacking, Laursen and Austin begin by outlining the need for a systemic approach to gender equity. Looking at the successful work being done by specific colleges and universities around the country, they analyze twelve strategies these institutions have used to create more inclusive working environments, including * implementing inclusive recruitment and hiring practices * addressing biased evaluation methods * establishing equitable tenure and promotion processes * strengthening accountability structures, particularly among senior leadership * improving unwelcoming department climates and cultures * supporting dual-career couples * offering flexible work arrangements that accommodate personal lives * promoting faculty professional development and advancement Laursen and Austin also discuss how to bring these strategies together to create systemic change initiatives appropriate for specific institutional contexts. Drawing on three illustrative case studies--at Case Western Reserve University, the University of Texas at El Paso, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison--they explain how real institutions can strategically combine several equity-driven approaches, thereby leveraging their individual strengths to make change efforts comprehensive. Grounded in scholarship but written for busy institutional leaders, Building Gender Equity in the Academy is a handbook of actionable strategies for faculty and administrators working to improve the inclusion and visibility of women and others who are marginalized in the sciences and in academe more broadly.

Exploring Consensual Leadership in Higher Education explores the idea that the nature of academic work is both creative and consensual. Higher education relationships, whether between managers, staff, learners or the public sphere, are at their most effective when rooted in partnership, teamwork, collaboration and collegiality. The term 'consensual' is used because it situates new leadership models as structures based on consent, reflecting tacit traditions in education alongside ideas of leadership in other settings, including emerging industries. The aim is to celebrate achievements, encourage engagement opportunities, and add to the problem-solving knowledge-base. However, issues and problems in participatory engagement are also considered, and the borderlines between consensus (collective assent and agreement) and 'dissensus' (widespread, serious, disagreement) are examined critically.The contributors offer a range of alternative perspectives on leadership, reflecting the diverse forms and ways of working practised in different national higher educational contexts and cultural settings. The volume incorporates a variety of approaches and points of view, including stories of leadership and change, innovation projects and case studies, key interviews and insights, and collective team writing.

Dowdall's book offers sample documents for candidates as well as for the search committees, and includes a substantive bibliography. From her vantage point outside the institution, Dowdall is able to provide a unique point of view and insightful comments on the complex and often daunting process of the academic executive search. Key selling points include: The eagerness for career advice that exists, both from candidates (Part I of the book) and search committees (Part II of the book); a visible author, who writes a monthly column in the Chronicle of Higher Education and lectures often at leadership seminars; and information on this subject which covers all institutional types, including liberal arts colleges, comprehensive institutions, research universities, and community colleges.

This open access book presents how Open Science is a powerful tool to boost Higher Education. The book introduces the reader into Open Access, Open Technology, Open Data, Open Research results, Open Licensing, Open Accreditation, Open Certification, Open Policy and, of course, Open Educational Resources. It brings all these key topics from major players in the field; experts that present the current state of the art and the forthcoming steps towards a useful and effective implementation. This book presents radical, transgenic solutions for recurrent and long-standing problems in Higher Education. Every chapter presents a clear view and a related solution to make Higher Education progress and implement tools and strategies to improve the user’s performance and learning experience. This book is part of a trilogy with companion volumes on Radical Solutions & Learning Analytics and Radical Solutions & eLearning.

This open access Springer Brief provides a systematic analysis of current trends and requirements in the areas of knowledge and competence in the context of the project “(A) Higher Education Digital (AHEAD)—International Horizon Scanning / Trend Analysis on Digital Higher Education.” It examines the latest developments in learning theory, didactics, and digital-education technology in connection with an increasingly digitized higher education landscape. In turn, this analysis forms the basis for envisioning higher education in 2030. Here, four learning pathways are developed to provide a glimpse of higher education in 2030: Tamagotchi, a closed ecosystem that is built around individual students who enter the university soon after secondary education; Jenga, in which universities offer a solid foundation of knowledge to build on in later phases; Lego, where the course of study is not a monolithic unit, but consists of individually combined modules of different sizes; and Transformer, where students have already acquired their own professional identities and life experiences, which they integrate into their studies. In addition, innovative practice cases are presented to illustrate each learning path.