Search the full text of books. Copyright (as applicable) will prevent you from reading the full text in Google. If you find a book of interest, search Helmke Library's Catalog or WorldCat to locate a print or digital copy.
Produced by the Modern Language Association, this international resource contains bibliographic references (without abstracts) to articles in more than 4,000 journals as well as books, book chapters, proceedings, and dissertations in the fields of literature, modern languages, folklore, and linguistics.
Offers over 400 journal titles from 100 scholarly publishers covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and others.
Search across many Helmke Library databases to find both primary sources and scholarly materials. After searching, try the filters at the left hand side. This is also a good place to look for items found in footnotes or a bibliography. If you don't find the full text of the item you're looking for, make a Document Delivery request.
Indexes articles and book reviews in more than 2,000 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues (the earliest is 1665) through 1995. The scope is international, with journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
Reference sources can be useful in finding introductory information and/or topic overviews, especially when you are just beginning your research. Try also reviewing the bibliography of reference sources.
Provides a single interface for searching more than 20 Oxford encyclopedias and 175 language and subject dictionaries and reference works, including the Oxford Companion series, Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, and Visual English Dictionary. Covers all areas of science, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and business.
This online reference collection provides full-text access in PDF and html formats to more than 200 major reference works published since 2000, including encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, and handbooks by publishers such as Berkshire, Cambridge, Macmillan, Sage, Scribner, Sharpe, St. James, Thomson Gale, and Wiley.